‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 19 (Part 10)

Wednesday.  It really is the busiest day of the week for my family.  Luckily, this will be the last Wednesday that is this busy and after marching band season things will start to slow down a little bit.  I got up this morning and felt a little rested up as Heather and I went to bed around ten o’clock again last night.  I’m sure hoping I can start watching those ten o’clock shows after marching band season is done.  I got the kids going for school and they are excited because they just realized today that it’s only one week before Halloween and they already have their costumes and they can’t wait to get into them and I have to keep reminding them that they will have to wait a week to get into their costumes.  Austin has been bugging me because I need to fix his helmet and now all of a sudden he wants to do a custom Mandalorian and I have to say, who am I to not honor his request?  Anyway, I got them off to school and I got off to work.

I had a reasonable day at school and I have to say that things went okay with my classes.  No major issues to report other than the usual complaining that I get from my students about having to do work.  It never ceases to amaze me how much complaining my students do about having to work in my class.  It’s almost as if they don’t do any work in school, but I know this is not true because I’ve visited other classes and class work is an expectation in almost every classroom.  Sometimes I think all they want to do is sit around and socialize.  Well, after all, they ARE teenagers!

I got down with school and hung around and worked on grades while Heather text me to let me know that she was taking the kids to piano lessons and then she was going to take the girls to Girl Scouts later tonight.  I told her I was hanging around school to get some work done and then heading to SMASH, which is exactly what I did.  SMASH rehearsal seemed to go better this week and Jim had a game plan to try and put some more energy back into the students, including teaching some new students how to do the 55/5 and our stick routine.  I guess you could say it was a “back to the basics” night for SMASH, which is exactly what we and the students needed!  It brought us back together and I think things are looking up for the group again and I don’t think we’ll loose those high schoolers, at least not this year.  Jim and I finished up with our rehearsal and packed up right away and got on our way again and made our way to Burger King in Vestal for dinner yet again.  We sat down and discussed what we were hoping would happen this weekend as we hosted a show at Vestal and then had Championships at the Carrier Dome on Sunday.   We’re hoping that things will go positively and Jim and I are hoping we end up in the middle of the pack.  I told Jim I’m tired of being part of a program that ends up in last place or second to last and is just praying they don’t end up in last.  Yet somehow, I have managed to align myself with programs that just can’t seem to help but be in these positions.  I know, many people tell me that it’s the position that I’m put in, but on the other hand it’s hard not to take it personally.  But inevitably I can’t help but wonder if Vestal would do better if my name were not attached to their program.  I know I’m blaming myself for a bad season, but I do blame myself and I don’t think it’s been a bad season for the kids, it’s just been bad score wise.

Jim and I got to practice and had a very positive last practice with the students.  I told them how proud I am of them and what they have done all season long.  I am very impressed with how far these kids have come this year and I can say that I have never worked with a bunch of students that have worked as hard as they have and I can’t name a bad marcher within the group.  I know I say this every year about the marching band I work with, but I can’t help that this is the way I feel.  It was a busy night along with all of that and we had a pep talk for the mat crew as well and found out that the mat crew does not need to go flying off the back of the football field in order to be off the field.  We found out that all we have to do is come off the front sideline.  That will save us a ton of time and make us not feel so rushed to get off the field.

We got done with rehearsal and I left right away because yet again, I had not been at home all day long and I wanted to spend some time with Heather, which I did and then went upstairs and crashed.  I was exhausted!  And I still had a long weekend ahead of me!
Okay, let’s talk about Part 10 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 19 (Part 10):  Ar’alani’s inspection group beat Thrawn back by two hours and his report to her was short and sweet as he was doing a language lesson with Car’das within the hour.  Car’das had noted how Thrawn had taken Ar’alani’s inspections over the next two days so seriously that he was again looking quite fatigued.  Qennto was crawling up the walls threatening daring robery and escape attempts with “The Bargain Hunter”.  Even Maris was beginning to doubt Thrawn’s abilities to protect them from Ar’alani.  Car’das knew he had to do something in case they needed to escape.  So, he brooded over it and knew that “The Bargain Hunter” was too well guarded on the ship’s docks, but there was a Chiss shuttle they all seemed to be ignoring on the far end of the docks…..

Leave a Reply

