‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 19 (Part 1)

Monday.  Beginning of the work week and I have to say that I’m a little chipper about this week.  Why?  A few simple reasons.  Marching band season is almost over and I have to say that I may get some of my life back in that regard.  Also, I get a chance to be part of the Syracuse Heroes Expo this Sunday and it looks like we have a plan to make Daniel Logan (the young Boba Fett from Episode II) an honorary member of the Mandalorian Mercs, the Star Wars based costuming group I am part of.  I’m excited because I came up with the idea and I think this will be the first official cast member that will be a part of our group and it will be the first time that we create an honorary member of the costuming group.  I think it will put us on the map and make us a new recognizable part of the Star Wars costuming community.  Alright, enough about this weekend, and let’s talk about today.

I got up at our usual time this morning and got my kids ready for school.  We had our usual morning and I have to say that taking care of Tara in the morning can be frustrating and comical all at once.  I have to say the girl has some interesting choices when it comes to wardrobe.  For example, this morning we decided we wanted to wear our pink Hello Kitty shirt, but we also wanted to wear our red Elmo sweatshirt.  So, I’ve decided that instead of fighting her anymore, I will just let her dress the way she wants to.  Hey, she’s not going to school naked at least!  So the kids went to school and I went to work.

The school day was like any other and things seemed to go okay.  I have to say that my students seem to be more excited in the classroom ever since we started filming those music videos.  Anyway, my classes did okay today and I found out from Jim that he wants to start SMASH practices this Wednesday.  Although I understand what he is saying, it’s hard to do SMASH during Marching Band season, especially on Wednesday nights, but hey, it’s only two weeks of it this year, so I guess it’s okay.  I got done with my school day today and went home and took a small nap to make it through the night.

I ate dinner with Heather and the kids and then headed off to Marching Band while Heather and the kids went off to football practice.  Marching band went fairly well tonight and I have to say the kids are starting to feel the sense of urgency about the end of the season.  There are things that need to be drastically fixed in the show and there are other parts of the show that are really starting to pull together.  On the flip side, I spend a lot of time waiting around at practices this year.  We start practice with music rehearsal, then do visual rehearsal, and then do ensemble with everyone together.  The problem with this is the fact that the visual staff is standing around for forty-five minutes at the beginning of the rehearsal waiting on the music portion to end.  I get perturbed because for me, I look at it as forty-five minutes I could’ve spent at home with the wife and kids.

The students did well and I can say that they’re going to put on quite a show for the finals.

I got done, came home and watched “C.S.I:  Miami” with Heather and then we went to bed together.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 19 (Part 1):  Fourteen vessels, Ar’alani decalred are destroyed by Thrawn’s presence and she asked if Car’das if that number was right.  Car’das guessed that was right, as he wondered in his head where the non-damaged Trade Federation battleship had gone to.  He estimated that was right, but reminded Thrass that he had no accesss to the sensor information.  Then Ar’alani said there were a considerable number of those as she pointed to a droid starfighter, and Car’das explained about the droid starfighters to her.  Thrass commented that it seemed as though they were easily bested, but Ar’alani said to not underestimate the use of this technology.  Car’das confirmed that he’s seen reports of them in combat and they can be quite tricky.  Ar’alani said there was no evidence as to who acted first and Car’das stuck to his story of the Federation making the first act of aggression.  That’s when Ar’alani revealed that a military tribunal will be involved and they may bring Thrawn up on charges.  Thrass pointed out that they’ll have to review records adn interview warriors in the meantime…..

Leave a Reply

