‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 18 (Part 11)

Okay, it was a Saturday without marching band, so I thought I would get a LOT of things done around the house.  Then reality checked in.  Reality?  I got a few things done, but not everything I had planned to get done.  I guess it figures and I should be used to it by now, but I always have my hopes set high and get dissapointed when I can’t get everything accomplished that I want to.  I got up around nine o’clock this morning, which is sleeping in for a Saturday for us, and got to work right away.  I fixed some minor things in the bathroom, including our tub that has not been draining properly ever since the kitchen sink got fixed.  I’m not sure why, but with some Drano and some muscular plunging, I managed to get the drain running free.  Then I decided to fix the drain stopper as it has never been at quite the right level.  Either it would get in the way of the drain draining, or it would not work to keep the water in the tub.  Eventually, I got it all fixed and working properly again.  I got done with that and told Heather I was heading outside.
The first thing I did outside was to drain our pool.  Heather has not been happy since I drained it a few weeks ago and was upset because she said she wanted to get in the pool and clean it from the inside.  I tried to explain to her that the pool had turned into a cess pool and if I didn’t drain it soon we were going to have a swamp and possibly even some mosquitos.  So, I drained the pool a week or so ago and today, I finally took the pool completely down.  I dragged the pool, the poool cover and the ground cloth for it closer to the house so they could dry properly.  Heather promised me that she would take care of the rest during the week this week.  I agreed.  After that, I decided to work on the house itself and I started to prime the spots on the front of the house.  It wasn’t easy as the primer didn’t want to cooperate with me and there were moments where I thought it would even stick to the shingle, but it finally did.  I just think it was too humid for it to dry properly.  Once I got done with that, it was time for lunch.  Yeah, hard to believe that I got all that done in one morning, but I did.  I came inside and ate lunch with Heather and the kids and she told me she needed to go out and get some things, and decided today would be a good day to get a new computer desk for our new computer.  I agreed that we should get one and we decided to check out Staples.  We stopped at CVS and some other places and came home and I went to work on putting together the desk itself.  It was not easy, but I did manage to get it together.  It’s a nice desk, I’m just worried about the glass top it has and I know my wife, and she’ll clutter our computer desk up with a whole bunch of stuff that will scratch the glass.  Anyway, I got the desk put together and put things on it and then Heather helped me take the other computer desk downstairs.
I then decided now was the time to put the recessed light over the sink up.  I worked the rest of the afternoon on that, but the light is up there more securely than the other light ever was.  I’ll be honest, there was no way this light was going up without some serious help from Heather and I thank her for that.  We got it done just in time for dinner.
We got done and got dinner on the stove and we had the kids set the table and we had a nice Saturday night sit-down dinner with everyone.  We had a nice dinner.  Once we were finished, I went downstairs and organized the computer desk I had moved downstairs and got things set up for my own little “podcasting corner” of my basement.  I have to say it’s nice to have my own desk and my own little area to do my blogging and podcasting in. 
I did manage to find out tonight that the problems at Podomatic have to do with a server at podomatic itself.  There is mas hysteria on the site and many people are complaining.  I’m not complaining, because I don’t pay a dime for my subscription, but if I did pay money for it I would have to say that I would probably be upset.  I got done doing some research and then watched a movie with Heather and we went to bed.  Tomorrow, we’re actually going to church for the first time in almost two months.
Okay, so enough about me, let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 18 (Part 11):  Doriana introduced Sidious to Thrawn, a Commander in the Chiss Expansionary Fleet.  Doriana told Sidious that he’s experienced set-backs and felt a small tinge of a Force grip around his throat, and he begged Sidious to let him explain.  Doriana then told Sidious aobut getting his tail kicked in his fight with the Chiss and Sidious looked at Thrawn and said his tactics were impressive.  Sidious asked if only one of the Trade Federation ships survived and Doriana said yes, but only because Thrawn allowed it.  Sidious asked if Thrawn’s abilities are typical of the Chiss, but Thrawn defleceted the question saying that he is the youngest to ever hold the position of Force Commander.  then Sidious asks Thrawn of their need to destroy Outbound Flight and assumes Doriana informed him of their need.  Thrawn asked if he had proof and Sidious says he has reports which Doriana can show him and askes Thawn what his intention is.  Thrawn said that if he’s convinced, he’ll stop Outbound Flight and Sidious said that was excellent.  Then Sidious warns him of the Jedi’s abilities to touch other people’s minds, so don’t let them know the attack is coming.  Thrawn asked if this concept of mind minipulation goes both ways, and Sidious says it could but warns that if he tries to do this, it won’t work on C’Baoth and simply reveal their presence to him.  Thrawn pointed out that it may be impossible to surprise those who can read minds and Sidious explained that this is why Doriana wants to use the droid starfighters as the main thrust of their attack…..

Leave a Reply

