‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 18 (Part 10)

Friday.  Last day of the week and I must say that it’s nice to actually have a weekend to myself and my family this weekend.  There is still much to be done, but on the plus side, it will be with my family and not out away from my family.  So, today was a Friday like many others.  I got the kids up for school and got them ready for the day.  Ruth helped them get to the bus stop on time while headed to work a little early.  I like the fact that my mornings are suddenly becoming routine.
I got to school early today and started to set things up for students for their music videos and podcasting projects.  I have to say that we got a  LOT accomplished today.  We got so much accomplished that I may be able to get out a record number of music videos this quarter.  I’ve never gotten this many videos done and edited in this amount of time.  Not only that, but I think the music videos are getting better not only in quality, but in concept and ideas as well.  It’s fun to see not only the students having fun, learning, and taking pride in what they’re doing, but it’s also fun seeing the project itself evolve into so much more than I initially intended it to.
I got done with school and Heather suggested we go out for dinner.  I was all for that as I wanted to check some things out at Wal Mart and Lowes this evening.  We decided to go out and eat dinner at “Moes” a Mexican restaurant that Heather, the kid, and myself are really beginning to enjoy.  You can find them online at http://www.moes.com/.  We had a dinner that even filled my son’s stomach and then headed to Wal Mart.  As always, I managed to find some new Star Wars TAC figures at Wal Mart and Heather and I found some materials to put a new kitchen sink in.  It’s a long story, but long story short, the company of our original faucet (Price Phister) wasn’t able to replace the parts on the sink after weeks of attempts to send replacement parts.  Lowes suggested we buy a new sink and deal with the company later to get a refund.  So, we’ve decided to buy a nice Moen faucet.  I told Heather that I was not impressed with the Price Phister brand, so we decided to buy a Moen which seemed to be a middle of the line type faucet.  We came home and replaced the faucet, which took up most of the rest of the night.  We watched a little T.V. and then talked about what we wanted to buy for a computer desk tomorrow and talked about where we needed to go to get some things done.  Tomorrow was going to be another busy day as I installed a recessed light above the kitchen sink and then work on some other projects around the house, including trying to prime some of the paint on the front of the house.  Man, I can’t believe how much time I’m not spending on my house because of Marching Band.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 10 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 18 (Part 10):  He says that Sidious knows of an invasion force coming with ships, and weapons of a shadowy type all based on organic technology.  Thrawn said this is all difficult to prove and wonders why Doriana would bring this up now.  Doriana says that Sidious has not told anyone and doesn’t plan to until he’s raised an army to protect the Republic with.  Thrawn asks how Outbound Flight fits into this and Doriana explains that the project’s secret mission is to discover what happened to a Jedi named Vergere and Sidious believes she was captured or killed by the invading force.  Doriana points out that Outbound Flight could reveal the exhistence of The Republic to the invaders too prematurely.  Thrawn said that he can’t believe the Jedi don’t understand this, but Doriana explained that Jedi Master Joruus C’Baoth, that is on Outbound Flight, does not care about such things.  As he finished explaining, Sidious appeared on the holoprojector and told Doriana to report, and then asked who the strange man in the room was…..

Leave a Reply

