‘Star Wars; Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 18 (Part 9)

Thursday.  Today was supposed to be a relaxing day, but somehow turned chaotic by the end of the day.  I started off as I usually do, getting the kids ready for school and me getting ready for work.  I have to say that Heather’s idea has worked out fairly well with her having the kids eat a small breakfast here and then heading to school and eating a full breakfast there.  Besides, it actually seems to work for my pit-stomached son who always seems hungry.  We had a great morning and things went off without a hitch.
I got to work and really had some good classes with my students.  We did some more music history and it seems as though everyone is getting into my classroom routine and are starting to understand where I’m heading with each example of music history.  I think in some ways they may acutally be enjoying Thursdays.  Of course, it may be because the anticipation of Fridays are just around the bend.
I got done with school and came home and started to work on some things around the house.  Mainly, Heather and I are talking about buying a new computer desk for a new Dell desktop that we recently purchased.  It’s faster and more reliable and has three times as much memory in the hard drive as our initial computer.  It’s amazing how fast my computers get out of date around here!  Anyway, we talked about what we wanted and what we could do with our old desk, when I had the idea of putting it in the basement for me to do my podcasting on.  That would be awesome because it would give me my own space for my podcast.  I was excited about this idea as we got ready for dinner and I helped Heather to make dinner as we continued to talk.  We got done with dinner and I thought I would go downstairs, do some grading, and check on some things online as it seemed like I actually had some time on my hands.  And that’s when my day went sour.
I found out today that my podcast page for Novel Ideas (http://www.novelideas.podomatic.com) and The Jedi Council Speaks (http://www.treborgahkor.podomatic.com) are BOTH down.  I was a little upset with the TJCS site being down, but I was more upset with NI being down as I just built my Novel Ideas site and I was not able to get in this evening.  I tried emailing the Podomatic staff, but was not getting a response, which is not usual for them.  So, I continued to figure out what was going wrong and I was never able to get on all night long.  Instead, the Podomatic site simply says it’s under construction.  It seems as though the site itself is gone.  I will keep you all posted on what’s going on when I find out more.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 9 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Fligh” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 18 (Part 9):  Thrawn says he knows his name is not Stratis and that he is not leading this expedition and the Jedi ar not the real reason he wants to destroy Outbound Flight.  Doriana asked why else they would be here and Thrawn speculated that maybe they want to redezvous with Outbound Flight to have their warriors join his.  Doriana said he already told him they were not here for conquest, but Thrawn said that he now had to be convinced of that.  Doriana then told Thrawn to follow him as he will introduce him to his superior and Doriana told Kav to stay on the bridge.  When Doriana got into the forward bridge office, his holoprojector was already hooked into the comm station.  Then Stratis reintroduced himself to Thrawn as Kinman Doriana, and let Thrawn know he has tried to keep that a secret from Kav’s crew.  Then Thrawn asked if he played opposing roles and Doriana admitted he did.  He told Thrawn that his public master is Supreme Chancellor Palpatine, but his private master is Sith Lord Darth Sidious.  Doriana explained that the Sith oppose the Jedi in the galaxy.  Thrawn said he understood it as a power struggle, but Doriana explained that it was more and that Sidious has access to some unique information…..

Leave a Reply

