‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 18 (Part 7)

Tuesday.  Time to get back to work!  That was okay because with a little bit of rest and very little relaxation, I was ready for my week to begin again.  I got up around my usual time today and have to say that I had a pretty good night of sleep last night, which has been a very rare occurrence for me lately.  I got the kids up and got them going and it seems as though they are re-energized as of today.  Even Tara seemed to be on top of her game this morning and managed to finish eating her breakfast and seemed to be ready to get out the door for school.  Maybe she needed this long weekend away from school to get herself back on track.

I had a typical Tuesday with my students, but a thought occurred to me today while I was at school.  In reality, I have been less stressed this school year and I’ve come to realize that the loss of stress has to do with me not working the lunch hour.  I have not been working the lunch hour this year and I have to say that I’m much more relaxed about many things at school and I think it’s because I get that hour in the middle of the day without students, which I need for my own sanity’s sake.  I have to say that I’m enjoying this concept and it has changed my outlook on my students as I now don’t see them in an environment outside of my school classroom.  So, my day was okay and typical and I came home and found out that Heather’s workplace is getting pretty stressful.

She has a new manager working at her store that she does not get along with.  This lady is coming from another store and just seems to have it in her head that she can run the Wendy’s store better than Heather because she has more training and Heather is just a “lowly” middle manager and she’s been in control of a store.  All I can say is that she better be careful because there is nothing my wife enjoys more than having the ability to prove someone wrong and I think this lady is pushing the wrong person’s buttons and my wife will push back.

When I got home, Heather informed me that she called a plumber about the kitchen sink not draining and he should be here on Thursday so we don’t have to do dishes in the tub anymore.  I be glad when that problem is solved, but I’ll be happier when we can get the kitchen sink and drain all working at the same time.  We relaxed together at home and I graded some papers while she worked on dinner and then we went into the basement and I finished catching up on grading while we both watched our typical Tuesday Night show line-up.  We went to bed at separate times because “Nip/Tuck” is starting up again and my wife went to bed early as she has an early day tomorrow.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn……


Chapter 18 (Part 7):  C’Baoth then got angry and said Kenobi was accusing him of walking the Dark Side, but Obi-Wan corrects him and says he believes that C’Baoth’s expectations are set too high.  C’Baoth countered that it’s better to push their Jedi eyond their comfort level than to be complacent with them.  Kenobi said it’s better to have realistic goals so that Jedi can actually achieve them and build their confidence.  C’Baoth stood up and said he won’t have his philosophies questioned by anyone, especially a Jedi as young as Obi-Wan, but Kenobi counters saying that age does not define knowledge whien ti comes to The Force.  C’Baoth retorts saying that experience matters and tells Kenobi that when he’s trained as many Jedi as he has, then he can talk to C’Baoth, then he instructs Kenobi to find his padawan, to which Kenobi reluctantly agrees.  As Obi-Wan walked into the hall, he reminded himself that he originally did not want to go on Outbound Flight and this is why.  Now, however, he was concerned and wondered if he should contact Mace Windu at their next port and ask to stay onboard for the remainder of the mission.  Kenobi wondered if all of C’Baoth’s padawans were as cautious as Jinzler because the padawans he was about to cultivate on Outbound Flight would not be like her, they would be more like Anakin.  Kenobi worried that C’Baoth’s new padawans may question themselves right onto the Dark Side of The Force…..

Leave a Reply

