‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 18 (Part 3)

Friday.  A day that I can actually rest, a day that I didn’t get paid, but that’s okay, I didn’t have students.  I got up a little later this morning and Heather stayed home with the kids as they had a day off as well.  When I got up this morning, Heather got up with me and made some eggs and stuff for breakfast.  That was better than going to school early and getting the continental breakfast they provide, and besides, I get a chance to spend some time with my family.  I then went to West Middle for our workshops for the day today.  I started off my workshops by going into the auditorium and watching a video about how to get to my Special Education students better.  The video had some valid points and the strategies were a little old, but then again, if I were to guess, I would say that the video was probably produced in the early eighties judging by the hair styles and clothes.  Then we went to a room and had a workshop on reading skills.  I must say that there was some cool stuff here and it was an envigorating workshop with some concepts that I can even use in my classroom.  A great day and some wonderful workshops and we got to go home about an hour early today.

I went home and enjoyed some time with my kids which I haven’t been able to do all season long.  Austin and I went outside and threw the football around for a while and Ruth and I talked for a little while and Tara and I goofed around with her bike.  It was nice to feel like a father, albeit for a short while.  I feel like I’m intermittently there for my children, and I wish I were home more often, but it just never seems to work out that way.  People said that the advantage of being a teacher is that I at least get to spend some time with my kids.  Reality check?  I really don’t!  Too busy doing all the things that comes along with my job, just like any other job.  Anyway, I then went inside this evening and spent some time with Heather and we had some time to ourselves, which was nice.  Tomorrow would be spent on my competition and Sunday on my son’s football game, but Monday I would have to myself.  That would be a nice change of pace.
Okay, so let’s talk about Chapter 18 Part 3 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 18 (Part 3):  Car’das said he would do what he could and left his quarters.  As he walked down the corridor, he contemplated how he was going to talk to Thrawn and Ar’alani.  As he walked Thrass surprised him in the hallway.  Thrass told Car’das to follow him and Car’das’ heartbeat began to surge.  Thrass led him to quarters on the upper end of the base.  Thrass gestured as he entered the room, where he noted Ar’alani was sitting at a round table and told him to come in and take a seat.  they spoke in Cheunh and Car’das thanked her as Thrass took a seat next to her.  She complimented Car’das on his improved use of the Cheunh language.  She asked Car’das his viewpoints about what happened at Thrawn’s latest military venture.  Car’das said Thrawn should talk to them, but Aranlin insisted upon know more about his latest act of agression.  Car’das corrected her saying it was an observation of a military force that happened to be local.  Ar’alani said he wouldn’t have been informed if it weren’t for his militaristic tendencies.  Thrass backed Car’dsas up, pointing out that the Expantionary Fleet does allow for observation of local systems.  Ar’alani said observation, but not military action with Chis casualties…..

Leave a Reply

