‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 17 (Part 6)

Okay, Friday.  I had a lot to do today to get ready for my week and my weekend and I had a lot to do just in my classroom as well.  I got up this morning and told Ruth that I was going to have to leave early this morning as we were going to start recording both videos and podcasts in my classroom, so I needed to leave early to get to school to set things up.  Ruth, my lovely older, well organized child, took it upon herself to make sure that the kids would get to the bus stop.  I knew I could depend on her, so I wasn’t too worried about the kids getting to the bus stop.  I left the house only ten minutes early, so it worked out okay.

I scrambled to get to school and get things set up.  I got some of the green screen set up and decided I need to do something about the green screen I use at school.  I only have a four foot by eight foot screen and it’s just not big enough.  We tried to get some recording done today, but there weren’t many shots that were taken, which can be frustrating as a teacher, but I’ve told myself that this all comes with working with students and trying to get things to go the way I want them to.  I just keep reminding myself that I need to have patience with this project idea and the more patient I am with the project, the better it will look in the long run.  I think many of my classes have good ideas, but I think it’s up to me to get it all together.  My seventh graders were able to script their podcasts today and my sixth graders continued with “American Idol” Season 6.

While I was at school, I researched an idea for new green screen.  At first, I looked at how much pro green screens cost, but they were WAY too expensive for Heather and I to be able to afford on our own.  So, I went onto the Internet and got into some chat rooms to look for some cheap alternatives.  First off, I found out that lighting the green screen is just as important as having a seamless green screen.  So, I found out that having some shop lights would actually help to fill the room with light to get rid of green screen lines and shadows.  Next, I found out that anything that is colored Kelly Green would work for green screening, including table cloths, and that’s when the idea dawned on me.  We just had a new “Maines Food and Party Warehouse” put in down the road from our house.  So, I asked Heather if we could meet there after work and explained what it was all for.  She agreed and we managed to find a roll of really cheap table cloth material that will work and it’s really cheap.  Perfect!  We also managed to go to Lowes and get some lights.  I think this will really help for next week.

I finished editing my podcast tonight because my weekend is full of things to be done as I have a competition tomorrow and I have an event at the Binghamton Zoo for my Star Wars FanForce group on Sunday, which will fill my whole weekend and Monday is the first, so I needed to get my podcast edited tonight.  I got that done and then got everything organized for the weekend.  By the time I finished with all of this as well as dinner somewhere in the middle of this crazy night, it was midnight and I needed to get to bed because tomorrow was going to be a long day.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 17 (Part 6):  Uliar turned the corner of his ship to run into trouble and asked what was going on outside the monitor room door.  The senior officer said that Ma’Ning and some of his Junior Jedi are touring the ship.  Sivv, the senior officer, said they were kicked out and told they didn’t know when they would return.  Uliar then went to the door, opened it and entered.  Ma’Ning continued his lecture to the you Jedi at the boards, but looked at Uliar questioningly.  He finished his lecture and then looked at Uliar and asked what he needed to which Uliar asked them what precisely they were doing.  Ma’Ning said they were teaching the padawans about reactor operations.  Uliar looked at the young children who ranged in age from five to eight, and told Ma’Ning that this was no place for children and that Ma’Ning was not trained on the subtleties of reactor operations…..

Leave a Reply

