‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 17 (Part 5)

Thursday.  The one day of the week this week that I didn’t have anything going on after school.  It was a nice change of pace to the usual routine of going, and going, and going.  Sometimes I feel like I need to be the Energizer Bunny both for my family and the marching band I’m working for and everything else I’m expected to do.  I got up at my usual time today and got my kids ready for school while I got ready for work.  I have to say that I love my children because they have become pretty self-reliant without too much prodding from me.  I really like the fact that Ruth and Austin have stepped up to the plate and get all their things together the previous night and really have themselves organized.  Tara, on the other hand, is really starting to fall behind in her expectations.  It figures that I had to have one child that would drive me insane since I drove my parents insane myself!  She just doesn’t seem to have the ability to keep her room relatively neat and tidy and I’ve threaten to take everything out of the room, and have done so, but she still sits there and defies me.  As a matter of fact, once I took everything out of her room except her bed and dresser, she made up a song about how wonderful her room was empty.  To a parent, this is extremely distressing.  I keep telling myself she’ll bring herself around.  Anyway, back to this morning, she refused to eat any breakfast.  I found out later today that she got to school, complained about being hungry and said we didn’t feed her breakfast, so they sent her down to get a school breakfast.  This makes me look like I’m a horrible parent, but SHE made the choice to not eat breakfast.  See what I mean?

Anyway, my day with my students went okay and I have to say that I’m really starting to get back into the swing of things with my students.  That may have something to do with the fact that I’m not as exhausted since I don’t have to get up at five in the morning anymore.  I have to say, every morning I go to work, I have to grin a little thinking about having the option of having my own car again.  I guess I just keep taking it for granted and I keep telling myself that I won’t do that anymore.  I got done with work and came home and got myself all set for podcasting a little more and that’s when I realized that I had to take my son to football practice tonight.  So, I lost a little bit of time of working on my podcast to take my son to football practice.  That’s okay, I ‘m there for him and at least I have a car to take him there.

At football practice, I had to have a discussion with my son about what he’s doing on the defensive line.  For some reason, he has it in his head that he needs to turn his back on his opponent and I had to read him the riot act about doing it.  The reason I am worried about him doing this is that I’m afraid he’s going to injure himself or another player.  He thinks that in order to get leverage on his opponent, he needs to lean backwards into him.  I’m trying to show him that this won’t work.  I wish his coach would get on his case a little more about it, but his coach is worried about other players and I understand that, so that’s why I’ve taken it upon myself to try and help Austin because coach has other things to have to worry about.

We got done with practice and I got home and did some recording and basically finished recording my podcast, so all I have to do is edit my podcast tomorrow and get it out on the airwaves.  This one is going to be interesting and I can’t wait to see how people will react to this show.  Once I was done with that, Heather and I watched some of our usual shows on a Thursday, such as “Survivor”, “C.S.I.” and “Law and Order:  Criminal Intent”.  We went to bed shortly after that and I have to say I was out like a light bulb because I was exhausted.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 17 (Part 5):  Car’das asked what would happen if Kav and Stratis decided to make a run for it and Thrawn said they couldn’t jump to hyperspace with “The Whirlwind” around.  That’s when Car’das realized that “The Whirlwind” had a Vagaari grav projector inside keeping them from hyperspace jumping.  Then Thrawn said that Stratis doesn’t want him to leave because Stratis wants him to destroy Outbound Flight for him.  Car’das seemed surprised that this is where the Trade Federation was going, but Thrawn said he saw it coming with the “evil Jedi” talk.  Car’das asked if he would do it, but Thrawn said he would do what he had to, to protect his people.  Thrawn thanked Car’das and stumbled as he got up to leave the room.  Car’das told him that he may want to get some rest and Thrawn thanked him for the concern.  Car’das then asked one last question as Thrawn got to the doorway.  He asked how Thrawn knew the droidekas wouldn’t gun them down on the bridge.  Thrawn said he noted the architecture, another form of art to him, and said the Neimoidians wouldn’t put themselves at any more risk than necessary.  Car’das said he was precisely correct.  He also pointed out that Kav was too close to them to let the droidekas attack.  Thrawn said he wasn’t sure if the Neimoidians were making a point or calling a bluff.  Thrawn said he hoped the Vagaari haven’t stolen Neimoidians military droid technology.  Car’das said he didn’t think so and Thrawn told Car’das to sleep well.  As Thrawn left the room, Car’das wondered what game Thrawn was playing with them.  He wasn’t sure if Thrawn was for or against them, but he knew things were heating up and he knew he needed to get the crew of “The Bargain Hunter” otu of here as soon as possible…..

Leave a Reply

