‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 17 (Part 4)

Wednesday.  Hump day!!  LOL!!  Okay, I think my humor is going to end up starting to slowly come back considering that I may actually be able to sleep through the night and through the morning.  Heh.  Well, this morning we all helped each other out just a little more getting each other ready for school.  I found the kids were in pretty high spirit and so was I.  I think we were all happy to know that Heather has a reliable, dependable, working vehicle to get back and forth to work now.  I got the kids going and then headed to school myself.  It was a pretty calm and cool morning and I have to say the day started off on a good foot today.

My kids at school were complaining because today is the first day that we started to do “hands together” playing.  It’s amazing how quickly teenagers today give up on a concept.  I sure as heck hope I didn’t give up as easily as these kids do.  They want to give up after attempting something for as little as two to three minutes.  My sixth graders are really getting into recorder though and I’m glad to say that I have some of the best recorder players I’ve ever had.  Even my students that have been struggling in class seem to be getting the concept of the recorder.  I got done with work today and did my usual race home, take a ten minute nap, and then get up, eat dinner and head off to marching band.

Practice tonight seemed to go well and I have to say things are looking up with all of the props for the show starting to come on the field.  I can say this now as I’m not “letting the cat out of the bag” when I say that we’re doing a show based on the game Monopoly.  I thought it was a really cool concept and I think the audience will get into it after a while.  I think they will understand it even more with the props on the field after tonight.  The only complaint I have about said props is the weight of the ninety foot by ninety foot board mat that we put on the field.  The thing has to weigh at least seven hundred pounds and  all I’m saying is that I’m not the spring chicken that I once was when I was younger.  I’m not sure how many times I’ll be able to lift that mat without back problems, but I’m determined not to hurt myself this season.  We have a crew of students helping us with this monstrosity of a mat and I have to say that I’m quite proud of all of them.  They’ve all stepped up and really come through with helping to roll and unroll the mat.  We got a few chances to practice with that tonight and I can say this weekend should go okay.  Although I’m not sure that the way we’re folding the mat is the most efficient.

I got done with practice, came home, crashed with Heather for an hour and then went to be at eleven o’clock.  I have to say that it’s nice to not have to worry about needing to get up at five in the morning.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 17 (Part 4):  Thrawn explains that Thrass is doing what he sees that he has to as the head of the Eighth Ruling Family.  Car’das is amazed that Thrass would call down an admiral on him, but Thrawn points out that if Ar’alani reverses his orders it protects him as well as Thrass and his family.  Car’das points out that this gives the Vagaari free reign on the galaxy and Thrawn woefully agrees.  Thrawn says till Ar’alani arrives, he’s still in charge and again asks Car’das of his impressions of ViceLord Kav and Commander Stratis.  Car’das says he does not believe that Stratis is in charge as Neimoidians would never answer to humans and Thrawn agrees stating that Stratis is an assumed name.  Car’das does agree with them about not having an invading force though.  They just don’t have enough droids.  Thrawn asks if he believes their mission is to destroy Outbound Flight, Car’das says he can’t answer positively or negatively as he knows nothing of an Outbound Flight.  He said Ferasi or Qennto would know more and asked if they were heading back to Crustai.  Thrawn said he needs to be there to greet the admiral and said his people can finish up here…..

Leave a Reply

