‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 17 (Part 3)

Tuesday.  Not only was it Tuesday, but it was a GREAT Tuesday.  That’s right folks, the Crissman’s are now proud owners of a new Kia Sportage as of this afternoon.  Yeah!  Well, not new, but new to us.  Anyway, let me walk ya through my day and we’ll get to that.  So, back up the trolley train, let’s start at the beginning of the day.  I bounded out of bed at five-thirty this morning in the ultimate hope that this would be the last day I would ever have to take Heather to work that early.  I came home and barely got any sleep and then woke the kids up and got them ready for school.  It even seems like our kids are excited about their mother getting a new vehicle.  And why shouldn’t they be?  This means they won’t have to walk to football and cheerleading practice anymore.  I think Heather wants the freedom too and has been annoyed by the idea of being stuck at work and stuck to the bus schedule.  So, we all got ready for school with a little bit of positive energy.

I got to work and the day went as I had expected it to.  Some of my students are doing really well in my class and others are simply deliberately tanking my class because they just don’t want to be there.  I swear that if I wrote a book about teaching classroom music it would be titled “No one in the center”.  I got done with school and gave Heather a quick phone call and she was happily driving her Kia home to meet me.  I was ecstatic and I think she was too.  I asked her if she would be willing to take Austin to football tonight so I could continue to work on my podcast as it is due very soon!  The first of October is a little over a week away and I have a ton of things to record and edit.  She agreed and said it would just be a good reason to drive her new vehicle.  I was glad she was not upset about this and it made me feel better knowing that now she has a pretty reliable vehicle.  So, we are now the proud owners of a 1999 Red Kia Sportage.  I have to say, that aside from some rust and a little bit of a squeal from a belt in the engine, the car looks and sounds reliable.  I’m excited because Kia’s have such a dependable engine in them and I’m hoping we get a few years out of this car before we will ever run into any problems with this vehicle.

So, I got home and we ate dinner together and went our separate directions.  I went downstairs and recorded for an hour or so while the girls did dishes in the kitchen.  Heather got home and we actually took some time to spend some time together, just her and I enjoying our company with each other.  It was nice to know that tomorrow I would not be getting up early to have to take Heather to work.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 17 (Part 3):  Car’das sat at a computer desk in his quarters on “The Spring Hawk” for hours waiting  on Thrawn.  When Thrawn entered he apologized and asked if Car’das managed to keep himself preoccupied and Car’das said he was studying the schematics on the Trade Federation ships given to him.  Car’das said that the droid starfighters are top of the line equipment and if Thrawn had not knocked out their communications, they would have ripped Thrawn’s ships to shreds.  Thrawn asked about Vice Lord Kav and Commander Stratis and Car’das turned and asked why he was being asked this, considering Thrawn didn’t trust him.  Thrawn said he trusted Car’das the minute he used Chiss computers to study their language instead of trying to find out more about Chiss technology.  That’s when Car’das noticed that Thrawn wasn’t looking good himself and asked if he was okay. Thrawn siad it was a long day and he just found out that Admiral Ar’alani was done studying the Vagaari ship, but Thrawn said he believes she cut it short to come back.  Thrawn said this is why he accused Car’das of espionage in front of his warriors.  He said it would explain why Car’das was still around and apologized for any distress it may have caused him.  Car’das seemed surprised that Ar’alani would be suspicious of him, but Thrawn said he had no doubt, considering the reports she was more than likely getting from Corustai.  Car’das began to question who and then realized that Thrawn’s own brother, Thrass, is selling him out…..

Leave a Reply

