‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 16 (Part 11)

Friday.  It’s the end of the week and things seemed to be looking up at the end of the week this week.  I got up this morning with a little hitch in my getty-up telling myself that this may be the last morning that I have to get up at five in the morning to take my wife to work.  I got home and crashed and then got my kids ready for school.  I left the house and helped them get down to the bus stop and took off to school.

Today was the last day of research for our music video and podcasting projects.  It seems like some groups have things together and really know what they want out of their videos.  Others seem to still be very disorganized and don’t seem to have any idea what they want to do with their video time.  It will be interesting to see how this all pans out as the weeks goes on.  I called Heather at noon today to see where we are with the Kia and she told me that she hadn’t heard anything from the car dealership, but then again, the dealership didn’t open until eleven o’clock.  She said she would text me when she knew more information.  I waited all day long and got no text from Heather.  I knew she was taking the bus to the car dealership after work and if she could, she was going to drive her truck home tonight.  Well, I called before I left school tonight and she sounded really upset.  When I asked her what was going on, she told me there was no one at the car dealership and she hadn’t heard anything from the car salesman all day long and didn’t know what was going on.  She decided to walk home and I asked her if she wanted me to come and pick her up and she said don’t bother since the time I would reach her would be the time she ends up at home.  So, I took off from school right away and headed home in hopes that I would get there and things would be graciously chaotic as we would try and get the truck.

Well, I got home and found out from Heather that the auto dealership said there was an issue with the inspection on the car and it was going to cost an extra $600 to fix.  Evidently the brake pads were completely worn down (which I said was the case) and the car needed new shocks and struts as well as the cost of the inspection.  At first I was pissed.  And of course, no more do we get told this than my parents show up at the house.  Not that I hate my parents, it just seems like we always get bad news either when their around or just before they arrive.  Love ya mom and dad!  Anyway, we were a little upset discussing the situation, but Heather made some valid points.  $600 wasn’t bad for a cost to replace all those parts and we probably wouldn’t do any better even with our own mechanic.  We discussed it further and decided the car was worth $3600 with all the repairs.  We called the car dealer and told him to do the work and we would pay him back.  He then told us the repairs would be completed by Tuesday at the latest.

We got dinner together as a family tonight and Heather made plans for a big dinner tomorrow night with my parents.  My mom and dad were going to join us for Austin’s football game for a little while on Sunday and then have to leave.  We sat around and talked for a while and then I excused myself so I could go downstairs and do some recording for my latest podcast.  I can’t believe the next episode is due so fast.  But, that’s what I get when I have a popular podcast and blog.  It seems like I can’t keep up with either lately.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 16 (Part 11):  On the Neimoidian battleship, a screeching sound rang out and a Neimoidian officer yelled out that all the starfighter droids had now gone dormant!  Doriana’s stomach tightened as Kav yelled at the deckhands to get their droid starfighters back online.  One officer explained that they were trying laser communication, but that will only work on some of the starfighters.  The officers also pointed out that the other fighters had finally been launched and were drawing Thrawn’s fighters out away from the cruisers.  Kav was happy with this as he hoped it would give them a clear shot at the cruisers with their Turbo Lasers.  Thrawn’s starfighters had missiles fired at them made by the Techno Union, so evasion didn’t work for the starfighters.  They were, however, equipped with more Connor nets to disable those homing missiles.  Not only did the missiles not function properly, but they were able to redirect one right into the hull of a Techno Union starship and watched it explode…..

Leave a Reply

