‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 16 (Part 9)

Wednesday.  I had to take Heather to work this morning, but the whole time I was reminding myself that this may be the last week that I would have to do this.  It put a little bit of a smile on my face.  I, of course, came home and crashed for an hour and got up and helped the kids get ready for school.

When I got to school, I set things up to teach keyboard and recorder today.  My eighth graders seemed to be starting to get the idea together of putting both hands together while playing their song with chords in the left hand.  It’s not an easy concept and many of them come into my class thinking that it will be a piece of cake and then learning the hard way that it requires some patience and practice.  My seventh graders seemed to be doing better on their scales on keyboard, but I say that with some hesitation as I think only time will tell how they are really doing on their scales and my sixth graders are still doing great on their recorders.  School didn’t go too bad today but I was still exhausted by the time the school day was over.  I got home after school and took a little bit of a nap so I could get through marching band tonight.

I ate dinner after my nap and the kids and Heather went to football and I took off to marching band.  I seriously considered calling and telling my director that I couldn’t be there as Heather and I needed to look for a car, but I had decided that I made a commitment to the band and I needed to be there for the students.  Practice went okay and we decided to make some changes to the show tonight, so I was glad I was there to help make some of the changes work and I was also able to start adding some visuals I’ve been wanting to add in ever since band camp, but wasn’t able to find the time to do.  Our music caption head wasn’t there, so Jim and I found ourselves crossing the plain and covering music with the students too, but there are times that I can’t help but talk about that anyway.  What can I say, I’m a music teacher?

I got done with practice and came home and crashed with Heather for a half hour and we went to bed at ten o’clock again.  We’re hoping tomorrow that we’ll be able to find a car so I can start getting some consistent sleep.  We’ll see.
Okay, so let’s talk about Part 9 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 16 (Part 9):  “Here they come”, Doriana mutered as he sat there thinking of the near impossibility of Thrawn’s ship gettin through their defenses.  Of course, he reminded himself that Thrawn was able to bypass three wings of Droid Starfighters which was also suppossed to be impossible.  As their droid starfighters appraoched, Thrawn’s own ships widened their formation, then each of his starfighter’s fired a single missile.  All the missiles were shot down by the droid starfighters and Kav laughed saying that this was an apparent waste of their efforts.  Doriana noted the missile waves coming out of the explosions and told Kav to call the droid starfighters back.  That’s when Doriana said they had used Connor nets.  It took out nine groups of droid starfighters.  Doriana told Kav to get the rest of the droid starfighters out of “The Keeper”, to fill the hole made by the inactive fighters.  Kav told all ships to intercept, but Doriana objected saying that this would leave their flanks open….. 

Leave a Reply

