‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 16 (Part 8)

So it’s Tuesday and I’m still exhausted, but I would like to say that as of today, we have good news.  Heather told me that today, we had about six thousand dollars show up in our checking account from my teacher retirement loan company.  Yeah!!! We can now start to look for a car starting tonight.  BUT, I still needed to get up early today and take Heather to work.  I was not excited about having to do it as always, but by the middle of the day today, I felt as though the days of taking Heather in at five in the morning are starting to dwindle a little bit.  I hope.  So, I got done with that, came home and crashed for an hour and then got the kids ready for school.  I’m sure you all have that line memorized by now!

Today was a rough day at school.  My students are starting to become more social and are definetly coming out of their shell.  In some ways this is good because it seems as though they are more awake and aware of their surroundings, but this also means they have taken to the idea that they can talk back to the teachers and think they can run the school.  My eighth graders decided to complain today as we were taking notes and they said they don’t like taking notes and some even plainly refused.  As Kahn said in the second Star Trek movie, “ah, the game’s afoot!”  It was tough, but somehow I managed to get through my day.  At lunch I got a text from Heather letting me know about the loan and the fact that we actually have the money.  Of course, both of us wanted to go car shopping right then and there, but I reminded her that we needed to slow down and take our time as hasty buying is what got us into this position in the first place!  She agreed, but I know she’s starting to feel guilty about the affects having to take her to work is having on me.  I got done with school and raced home.

We decided we wanted to go out and look for some cars, but also realized that tonight was both football and cheerleading practice which Heather needed to be at.  So, we tried to be patient about it.  We decided to eat dinner on the run and went out to Mark’s Auto Sales to see what they have.  Tracy, our sales rep there, told us that they don’t carry too many cars under $6000 because they want to sell quality, not quantity.  I appreciated her honesty and told her what we were looking for and she suggested we look along Front Street to see what is there.  By the time we got to Mark’s in Endicott and back, we needed to get right to football practice for Austin and the girls.  We went together as a family and then went home.  The kids went to bed right away and Heather and I went downstairs and discussed when and where we could go car shopping again.  We said the only other day that we could shop this week would probably be Thursday night as I have marching band tomorrow night.  We watched some T.V. and then went to bed early tonight while I taped the T.V. shows I was missing at ten o’clock.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 16  of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 16 (Part 8):  As they strolled past the droid starfighters, Car’das couldn’t believe what he was seeing.  Thrawn explained that the Neimoidians were using a rolling encryption sequence that had only three sub-sets.  So, he figured out the next sub-set, broadcast that to the starfighters with enough power to over-ride the Neimoidian’s signal.  Car’das then deduced that Thrawn was able to isolate that code by suing the decoy fighter attacking and retreating on the same flight path pattern.  Car’das said that won’t work on the next group of fighters and Thrawn said that was okay as they only needed to get in closer, as he ordered his vessels to move to attack pattern “d’moporai”…..

 

Leave a Reply

