Archive for September 14, 2007

‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 16 (Part 4)

Posted in IC - Star Wars: Outbound Flight (7) with tags on September 14, 2007 by jedicouncil

Friday.  Payday!!  Yeah!!  I thought that now would start the idea of actually starting to save some money to get a second car.  I still ended up waking up pretty grumpy this morning, however, and just wasn’t in a good mood about having to get up early.  I came home and crashed and then got up again an hour later and got the kids ready for school.  I’m sure you’re all sick of hearing me say that, and trust me, I’m sick of doing it.  Heather told me last night that she may try to see one of those “buy here, pay here” car dealerships about buying a car from them.  We both feel that working with those places is kind of like making a deal with the devil, but we may have no other choice for a car in a really long while.  I just hate that idea, but we may have to.

I got to school and started my students on the idea of their music video projects and they all seemed pretty excited about the idea.  I’m excited about the idea too, but it’s gonna be hard if all my classes make their deadlines (which I think is a strong possibilities), which means I’ll be editing three times as many videos this year over what videos were produced last year.  It will have an impact on the amount of time I’ll be spending outside of class in order to make these “green screened” videos come to life.  I got my seventh graders started on their idea of the podcast project and ironically, they don’t seem to be as impressed with the idea of their podcast production as the video production idea.  My sixth grade students liked the idea of working with “American Idol” Season six and a lot of them seemed to appreciate how much time I spend putting together question sheets to go along with the videos.  I have to say, it’s nice when your students appreciate all the work you to as a teacher to prepare lessons for them.  That’s really cool!

I got done and came home and Heather had a very serious discussion with me.  She said she made some phone calls today and was able to secure a loan for a car that would actually be here by Tuesday next week.  This had me excited!  I LOVE the idea that I would not have to get up at five in the morning taking her to work anymore!  So, she explained to me that the loan would be through my teacher retirement system and that the loan would not only give us money for a car for her, but also may give us some money to do some house improvements, including moving her stairs and starting to make an improvement in her kitchen, which I was all for.  So, I signed the paperwork and made some phone calls and faxes to help get the ball rolling faster.  We then went to Wal Mart tonight to do some shopping that needed to be done for the house as well as getting some grocery shopping done and then came home and put everything away.  We spent a few moments together as a family and then went to bed as tomorrow was going to be a long day for me.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 16 (Part 4):  Kav openly asked why he was wasting his time with these pirates and Doriana lunged for the mute button and asked Kav why he was acting like this.  Kav asked Doriana why they just don’t destroy them and Doriana said he wanted to know who they are, Kave suggested they figure it out from the charred remains and reminded Stratis that he is in charge, to which Doriana backed down.  Kav told them that the time for talking was over, then turned off the comm channel with Thrawn.  He ordered “The Keeper” to launch half it’s droid starfighters.  He told the captain of the other battleshikp to transfer command to him as he will have three groups attack, one group will defend and his battlship’s droid starfighters will remain docked in reserve.  Doriana hoped he could find out more about Thrawn and the Chiss in what was left of their wreckage…..