‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 15 (Part 7)

Monday.  It’s another start to what I’m going to consider a long and extended work week.  The only good news at the end of the tunnel of this week is the fact that I will get my first paycheck.  On the other hand, I get to look forward to continuing to waking up early to get Heather to work.  My favorite part is the fact that on Monday mornings, Heather likes to be at work at five in the morning.  Which means, I gotta get up at four-thirty in the morning in order to be conscious enough to drive the car at five in the morning.  I’m just not a fan of this idea anymore and I was particularly grumpy this morning about having to take Heather to work at this early in the morning.  I was grumpy because I knew it was going to be an extremely long day with marching band practice happening tonight as well.

I came home, grumped into bed and got another hour or so of sleep and then had to get up again and had to get the kids ready for school.  Tara is starting to be a giant pain in the butt with getting ready for school.  For some reason, she just doesn’t want to get dressed and eat her breakfast in time to get ready for school.  So, I got the unique pleasure of fighting with my youngest daughter in getting her ready for school today.  We finally got everyone going and I was on my way to school with my cup of coffee that Heather had made for me earlier this morning.  It was nice to have coffee, but it sure didn’t seem like it did any good for my students at school.  I think they’re all still trying to adjust to the schedule like I am.  My students did okay, but I’m finding that right now they’re not very talkative.  That’s okay with me for now, but I know in about a week, that will all subside in some way, shape, or form.  Heather and I decided last night that I was not going to work the lunch hours at school this year as we could afford for me not to.  I have to say that I’m relieved to not have to do that.  I truly believe that was what was making my school day so much more stressful last year.  I went through my day and my classes seemed to be doing okay considering I’m doing the first parts of Music Theory with them.

I got done with school and raced home to eat some dinner, got a quick nap, and then was on my way to marching band tonight.  We worked hard trying to get the kids together for their first show this weekend.  I was impressed with how much information that the Vestal band had retained from band camp over a month ago through these last few rehearsals.  I think we are in a good position to set ourselves up for the season.  We really do have some impressive sets and I have to say that the judges had better be impressed with the last portion of the show.  It’s impressive at how fast, efficient, and well our students move at the end of the show.  On top of that, they sound pretty good for a small marching band.  I’m hoping we blow the roof off the conference with these ideas!  We’ll have to see as we go through the season.  I really hope the crowd gets into the show, because that is where we can shape the hearts and minds of the parents in the conference.

I got done with rehearsal and came home and crashed with Heather.  For the first time in a long time, I went to bed with Heather at ten o’clock.  I was going to have to if I was going to make it through the school day tomorrow.
Okay, let’s talk Star Wars.  How about Part 7 of Chapter 15 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn?…..


Chapter 15 (Part 7):  Obi-Wan asked what just happened and C’Baoth snapped back saying justice.  Kenobi said there was no hearing, but C’Baoth said there was, he had just heard it.  C’Baoth suggested that Jedi can use The Force to gain insight to such matters to make quicker decisions than others.  Kenobi said that they should use the other resources available to them, but C’Baoth said these resources take too much time to implement.  Kenobi said he passed judgement without consulting ship’s law and C’Baoth said he wouldn’t waste Pakmillu’s time with his trivial incident.  C’Baoth then said that this is the kind of mediation the Jedi conduct throughout The Republic everyday, but Kenobi points out that one side or the other ususally asks for Jedi help.  C’Baoth then says they should check on Anakin.

Leave a Reply

