‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 15 (Part 1)

Thank goodness I did not have children in my classroom today!  I was still “jet lagged” from Dragon Con this morning.  It doesn’t help that I had to wake up this morning at four-thirty in the morning and had to drive my wife to work.  I came home and crashed again for school.  I got up around six-thirty.  I couldn’t even believe that the alarm was going off.  I had to get over to West Middle School by eight-thirty in the morning.  My babysitter showed up around quarter after eight and I was on my way.  I wasn’t exactly looking forward to this day.  We had our usual “welcome back” address by our Superintendent and of course we learned about how new business was going to be handled by the district  for this year.  We then went and had a staff meeting with the music and art staff.  It was rather vague, but we finally got copies of the curriculums we have been working on for the past two years.  We finally have a curriculum for music from Kindergarten to High School.  It’s kinda nice to know what we all expect from our students at all levels.  We got done with our meeting and told we could go to our rooms and start to get ready for the first day of classes on Thursday.

When I got to my classroom at East I felt totally overwhelmed as I always feel at this time of the year.  I started to take things out of storage and calm down a little, although it looked like a cyclone had hit my classroom.  I worked hard to get my room looking in decent shape and told myself that I could continue with all of this tomorrow.  So, once I got some things put away and finished for the day, I left school and went home.  I came home and crashed because I was physically and emotionally tired and just couldn’t even keep my eyes open.  I got some serious rest and decided that I would head to bed early and went to bed around ten o’clock tonight.  I was not looking forward to having to get up early tomorrow morning and having to take Heather to work.  Anyone that knows me, knows that I’m not a morning person, so this idea goes against everything I’m used to.
Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 15 of Timothy Zahn’s “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight”……


Chapter 15 (Part 1):  Thrawn introduced Thrass to the “Bargain Hunter’s” engine room, pointing out that it was not like Chiss vessels this size.  Thrass asked what it’s sublight range is.  Car’das said he did not know and Qennto asked if he planned on taking it on a test drive.  Qennto then sensed the tension in the room and answered, six-hundred hours of sublight before refueling.  Thrass said that was impressive and better than themselves.  Thrawn points out that this makes their hyperdrives more fragile, however.  Thrass asked what their weapons were and Thrawn said they were simple.  He said they have missiles and energy weapons, but no disabling equipment.  Thrawn also pointed out that this is not a war vessel and Thrass asks Car’das if the Republic has them and Car’das answers carefully saying The Republic itself does not have an army, but that each individual system is allowed to have one to protect itself.  He says he Jedi try to mediate wars before it gets that far.  Thrass asked what Jed are, and Thrawn said Ferasi was trying to explain Jedi to them.  Thrawn explained to Thrass that Jedi are able to access some unknown energy that they can use to manipulate minds, enhance senses, or as a weapon directly.  Maris pointe out that they do this in defense only…..

Leave a Reply

