‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 14 (Part 7)

Wednesday.  The day before we all leave for Dragon Con.  I had everything planned out so that I was at the house from three o’clock on because Karen told me she would be at our house around three o’clock.  Well, I worked all morning on continuing to download music and mixing it onto CDs.  I got about twelve CDs done by the time three o’clock came around.  In the meantime, Heather had gone to work, gone to Rent A Center to pay them, and then had gone to AAA to get a TripTik for our trip and come home.  In the meantime I had also started to plan on my trip.  I was able to download some maps from MapQuest and was then putting together some plans to avoid all the traffic and the construction, especially through Pennsylvannia.  We ran into problems with traffic and congestion in that state last weekend and I want to avoid that this weekend if at all possible.  Then I decided that I would try to make as many business cards for “The Jedi Council Speaks” as I can so I can hand them out at Dragon Con in droves.  Well, that’s when I realized I didn’t have anymore printable business cards left in the house.  I tried to make my own by using some cardstock, but they didn’t turn out so hot.  Heather offered to make a stop on her shopping excursions on her way home and I agreed.  She stopped at Staples and managed to find a LOT of glossy business cards that were the same price as the non-glossy with fewer in the package.  All in all, I believe I ended up with about 350 business cards to hand out at Dragon Con.  Cool!!!  So, by the time Heather got home, it was after three o’clock.  I was getting exhasperated because no one had shown up at my house yet.

So, I called up Ian to find out what was going on and found out that Charles was on his way (which I figured), Jeff wouldn’t be showing up till after seven o’clock, and Karen was still in her class.  That was odd, because when I talked to Karen the other day she told me she was going to be getting to my house around three o’clock, but Ian told me that her night class didn’t start till three in the evening.  Anyway, I was able to scramble around and continue to get things together for tonight.  Jeff was showing up to my house by eight o’clock and Karen showed up around six o’clock or so.  We had everything ready to go and we then packed Jeff’s truck.  Charles hadn’t shown up yet, but things were looking pretty tight even without Charles’ things.  We were hoping Charles didn’t pack a lot for the trip.  If he did, it was going to be tight.  In order to get everything into the truck, we had to pack a bunch of the food in my totes with my Mando costume and other parts of my clothes.  We no more than loaded up the truck than Charles showed up in his car.  He took out his costume and showed us parts of his costume.  I have to say it’s pretty awesome!  He’s got a rocket launcher and a set of grenades painted from water bottles.  They look realistic and are fully functional to hold liquids.  We had a great time visiting with each other and we got Jeff’s truck packed.  We headed back downstairs in my basement and Jeff left with the truck mostly packed.  Karen proceeded to work on the rest of her costume while my wife helped her out as well.  Karen kind of took my wife from working on jackets, but I think Heather will be able to catch up over the weekend.  While we were sitting there talking, Charles was explaining more of his costume, when it suddenly came over Charles that he did not pack his vest in his tote.

Charles was going to drive back to Rochester.  He said, “I’ll see you in six hours” and it was about ten o’clock at night by this point.  I told Charles to call his house first to make sure it was still there so we knew that it wasn’t in Jeff’s truck.  Charles called his parents and found out it was there.  I suggested that Charles have the vest overnighted to Atlanta.  It wouldn’t get there till Friday, but we probably wouldn’t be trooping too much before then anyway.  After some coaxing, Charles convinced his mother to send it to Atlanta for him.  We all decided to watch “Robot Chicken” again and then we went to bed.  It was almost midnight before we even attempted to go to bed.  We were all pumped for the trip to Atlanta, GA tomorrow.  This is going to be one AWESOME trip!!!
Okay, so enough about Dragon Con.  Time to talk about Part 7 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 14 (Part 7):  An irritated voice yelled at Dillian about where he has been.  Dillian said it was a special meeting and introduced Jedi Lorana Jinzler.  The stranger interrupted him saying that it’s hard to do a hyperdrive reactor communication check without the hyperdrive man.  Pressor apologized and said he thought the meeting would be done sooner.  The stranger looked at Jinzler and asked if this was now going to be common place.  Jinzler questioned the stranger’s name and he introduced himself as Chas Uliar.  Uliar complained about Ma’Ning pulling his workers off of their work and putting them on other work and Uliar wondered where it will stop.  Ma’Ning stepped forward and asked if there was a problem.  Uliar said he would like his workers so he could get his work completed.  Ma’Ning said to Pressor that he could go back to work and Pressor thanked him.  Ma’Ning apologized to Uliar and said they would try to be more considerate of their work schedule in the future.  Jorad said goodbye to Jedi Jinzler and told him to take care of his sister.  As they left, Lorana said to Ma’Ning that Uliar semed like an irritable sort, but Ma’Ning said that he has a point about the schedule changes.  Ma’Ning then let Lorana know that he makes the schedule changes according to C’Baoth’s requests.  He suggested to Lorana that she talk to him about this and she agreed…..

Leave a Reply

