‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 13 (Part 2)

Monday.  The first day of band camp and the beginning of camp didn’t quite go the way I wanted it to.  I had everything prepared for this morning, but my day started off pretty rough.  First off, I had to wake up at 5:30 this morning to take Heather to work so I could have the car for band camp.  I am NOT a morning person so the idea of me doing this is almost on the verge of a joke.  But, if we don’t find a second car before school starts, I’m going to have to do this everyday of the week during the school year and I’m not gonna be a happy camper if that is the case.  So, I dropped Heather off to work and came home and crashed for another hour and a half.  Then I got up, got a shower, ate breakfast, and waited for the babysitter to show up.

I got on the road and had to stop at my director’s car on the way to rehearsal to pick up the changes in sets.  I was running a little late and knew I would be, but forgot to take into account that I would be going out of my way both to AND from the director’s car.  Whoops!!  So, I got to practice about five minutes later than I wanted, but still was there ten minutes before rehearsal.  My plan was to play a D.C.I. DVD for the students while they were coming in (motivational) and when I got into the cafeteria, the T.V. with the director’s personal DVD player wasn’t there!  So, I had to go and find the janitors and ask them where the cart went to.  While doing that, I found out they cleared the office where we were keeping our sets and all our important information.  So, I then set out for fifteen minutes trying to find that information.  Needless to say, nothing went smooth and we didn’t quite start on time.  But, we got things going and I managed to get the rehearsal turned around.

We managed to go through the opener again and start the second tune and finish teaching it as well as doing some basics block that focused on style and some of the moves that we saw as problems in the show.  We got all of that done before noon, which is lunch time for the students.  I then headed out and picked up my wife from work and then headed home.  I took a little bit of a nap, ate some lunch and continued to peel and work on the paint on the outside of the house, which we have now decided is going to have to be put off till next summer.  I’m not happy about that idea, but we have no choice.  I didn’t even get done with that until it was time to eat dinner and get going again.

I headed back out to Marching Band rehearsal and we managed to Ensemble the first tune.  It started to rain during rehearsal tonight and I think it’s going to be this way for a majority of the week.  I like this weather, but the kids weren’t looking on the bright side of the weather.  So, I managed to pull out an old quote that a coach said to me, “remember, the weather doesn’t make you, you make the weather!”.  So, I used it and explained to the kids that it was up to them about how successful this rehearsal was going to be.  They were positive, so in a rainy rehearsal, we had a sunny outlook.  We got a lot done and I drove home after meeting for a little bit and went right to bed.  I gotta get up at 5:30 again tomorrow morning to get Heather to work.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 13 (Part 2):  Doriana’s shuttle took him to the Yavitiri Spaceport, where they had taken the time to prepare Outbound Flight in a stealthy way so as not to attract attention to the money spent on the project.  He found it odd that the public was not talking about the historic event of the departure of Outbound Flight, but somehow the universe was too busy to notice.  Doriana sat at his comm station and called for a lift slot when he told that Neimoidian, Commander Stratis, that he was late.  Then he turned in his chair and stood up to great Vicelord Sirkav.  Kav told Doriana that he should’ve been here an hour ago and that his fleet was ready.  Doriana said that Kav had no need to hide in his cabin unless he was spying on him trying to figure out his true identity.  Kav told Doriana that his master had betrayed him once already with the incident on Naboo, but Doriana pointed out that it was not Sidious’ fault, but Amidala’s.  Doriana then revealed he is a worker in the Chancellor’s Office and that Kav cannot let anyone else know…..

Leave a Reply

