‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 13 (Part 1)

Sunday and Heather had to work this morning, yet again!  It’s getting exasperating as she promised me this wouldn’t happen, but it now seems to be a common occurrence.  I’m a little upset only because we haven’t been to church in two months and most of that has to do with her workplace.  Either she works so late on Saturday night, she’s exhausted Sunday morning; or she works Sunday morning and can’t go.  She keeps telling me I could go without her, but I think that defeats the purpose a little.  I guess God won’t smite those that don’t go to church every Sunday, but somehow it makes me feel like less of a Christian.  I don’t know why I say that.  I just feel that way.

So, while Heather was gone at work I decided to continue to work on getting ready for band camp this week.  I reviewed the sets and set counts and as with any sets that I’ve seen written for a band, there were quite a few errors.  I tried to help my director negotiate the problems with the set counts and we got through most of it.  I am a little concerned because the song we’re supposed to start on Monday is the one that isn’t fixed yet.  It could potentially make tomorrow a very interesting day.  Hopefully it will get resolved before rehearsal tomorrow morning.  Since I couldn’t get much farther with this, I decided to start tackling another project.

I decided to do some research on the Battle of Bull Run and research the incident with John Brown at Harper’s Ferry.  We would be visiting both Battlefield Parks next weekend, so I decided I better take some time to research them and make sure that I still remember all the facts in the proper order.  I guess you could say that I was boning up on my history.  Feels like I’m in college again, I guess.  I got that done and started to try and download some music for our trip to Dragon Con and I also decided I should put together an itinerary for the trip.  I no more than started that, than we got a phone call from grammy and papa telling us they were ready to meet us with our kids.  We left the house and met the kids and picked them up and they regailed some awesome stories from the weekend being at grammy and papas.  They obviously had fun and just enjoyed themselves to no end.  Needless to say, Heather couldn’t fall asleep on the car ride home because they talked our ears off.

We got home and I managed to finish the itinerary for Dragon Con and email it to everyone in our group and then decided I better relax a little, so I caught up on some messages from the Marching Band director that straightened out the problems for tomorrow.  Then I sat down and watched “Big Brother” with Heather and then we both went to bed at ten o’clock.  Tomorrow was going to be a long day and this was going to be a long week.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 13 (Part 1):  Captain Pakmillu handed over the final crew and passenger list to Doriana and let him know that Outbound Flight was ready to fly.  Pakmillu told Doriana to thank Palpatine for all his help in making this possible.  Doriana said that was it and that he would see Pakmillu in five to ten years and Pakmillu said that they finish whenever they get the job done.  Doriana said that if they need anything more, they will still be in Republic space for three more weeks.  Doriana wished him the best of luck and said that The Force should be with them and Pakmillu said with nineteen and a half Jedi, it better be with them.  Doriana waited till they were clear of the Dreadnaught and then pulled out his datacard with the passenger list.  Doriana noted that he had encouraged C’Baoth to bring alond with him.  He smiled when he realized that the extra Jedi and a half were Obi-Wan and his padawan.  Their deaths on Outbound Flight could make up for the incident on Barlok.  As he watched Outbound Flight take off into hyperspace, he thought he should check with Sidious to make sure these two Jedi wouldn’t botch the plans they had made…..

Leave a Reply

