‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chaper 9 (Part 6)

Okay, it’s Tuesday and it’s the last day I’m home without any work before I go back to flipping burgers at Wendy’s tomorrow.  I had a lot of things I wanted to get done today and nothing went the way I wanted them to.  As a matter of fact, not only did nothing go right, but everything went wrong that got in the way of me doing what I wanted to do.  First, I got up around nine o’clock this morning and spent the entire morning recording my next show for TJCS and worked hard at not only getting the show together, but editing the show and getting ready to publish the show.  I put all that away and went upstairs to eat some lunch.  Heather came home shortly after I ate lunch and I went back downstairs and thought I would try and work on my blog.  But, if you’ve read my blog anytime recently, you know that this did not happen.  As I went to get online, something weird happened to my computer and things weren’t working correctly.  At first I thought it was something wrong with blog.com, but then discovered that I had a worm on my computer.  As I tried to resolve the problem, I then realized that the worm was not only attacking my laptop, but it was attacking my home networking.  I spent the rest of the afternoon and evening debugging my computer.  Once I got it back up and running, I then discovered that I had lost all the work I had done this morning on my laptop for the next episode of TJCS.  Then, to make my afternoon even worse, we found out some bad news about our new pool.

Heather came downstairs and joined me for a little while and then went upstairs and noticed that the pool didn’t look right.  I went out to look at the pool and it was leaking water somewhere, but I couldn’t figure out from where.  We looked all around the pool and gave the company a call.  Intex was really nice about the scenario and told us that we have a leak in the seam of the pool and there was really no way to have that repaired.  They told us we have two options.  The first option was to take the entire kit back to the store and have Wal Mart replace the entire pool kit.  The second option was to cut off the Intex label, water seal, and plug seal and mail it to them to prove that the pool has been put in a state that it cannot be used and they would mail us a new pool.  We decided to to send them the pieces of the pool and try to be patient.  Besides, my idea of fun was not taking the pool and all it’s parts back to Wal Mart.  I wasn’t sure I could get the pool in the car now anyway.  So, we cut the pool apart, took it apart, and drained the water that took us two days to fill the pool with.  Man, can’t wait to see our water bill for this month!  Anyway, by the time we got done with that, we were exhausted and decided to go out for dinner.  We went to a little Italian restaurant that is in Port Dickinson and had a nice Italian meal.  Heather had stuffed shells and I had pizza and wings.  It was a nice place and then we headed down to Suzie Q’s and had some desert and came home.  It was a long day and I still don’t have the network or laptop debugged from my worm.  AND, I now have lost the next TJCS episode.  So, I have decided that the next episode of TJCS will not come out until August 1st.  I’ll discuss some more as to why I made this decision later.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 9 (Part 6):  Chas Uliar was beginning to wonder if anything would go right at the Preparation Center for the Outbound Flight project.  Uliar had spent his past two years prepping for this project.  He had recently heard that families had been banned fromt he project by the Senate basically turning Outbound Flight into little more than a military reconnaissance mission.  He noticed lights on revealing that his roommates were awake as well.  He noted that they made all the members of the Outbound Flight team sleep as close as they would if they were on the actual Dreadnaughts right now.  As Uliar looked for dinner, Brace Tarkosa came rushing into the room and asked him if he heard the good news.  Uliar guessed that the Senate was going to stop Outbound Flight.  Tarkosa said the news was dead opposite!  They’ve restored full funding, okayed the final development of the Dreadnaught ships, AND they’ve relinqueshed their unwillingness to send families to Outbound Flight.  Tarkosa told him that rumor has it that C’Baoth was behind the restoration of funds and that there are more Jedi joining him.  Uliar was a little leary about the rumor and asked Tarkosa when all of this is supposed to take effect and Tarkosa says any day now.  Tarkosa suggests they go out for dinner to celebrate.  Uliar says he’ll wait to celebrate once the Jedi arrive…..

Leave a Reply

