‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 8 (Part 6)

Okay, it’s the first day of the last week of school.  Needless to say, the kids are amped about it and I was amped about it too.  It’s hard to believe and somehow I can’t seem to think that the end of the school year is really that close.  Today, it was official end of the year final exam day.  I didn’t have any of my classes today, but watched students while relieving other teachers during exams.  It was interesting in so many ways.  Students looked so stressed, while others looked like they just didn’t care about their exams at all.  I found out that tomorrow I see my nineth period class for the last time for the entire year.  That’s a bit of a bummer considering that some of them still need to finish their final exams in my class.  I thought I would get caught up on a whole bunch of paperwork and work at school today and the reality was that I didn’t get caught up on much.  It was one of those days that you feel like you work and work and work, but get nothing accomplished.  I started to set things up for tomorrow night which is the eighth grade graduation ceremony.  Yet again, they scheduled it on my wife’s Birthday, so I won’t be able to be there and have shown the band instructor how to run the sound system should they need to use it for the 8th Grade graduation.

I got done with school and came home and just crashed.  I knew the rest of the week would be chaotic so Heather and I relaxed for the evening.  It was nice to relax for a little bit and honestly, this was the first time I’ve been able to have a night to myself in a long, long time.  It was different, and as weird as it sounds, Heather and I almost didn’t know what to do with it.  We watched some T.V. and sat around with the kids and read some books.  It was nice to do that with the family.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 8 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 8 (Part 6):  While searching the streets, Obi-Wan faelt a disturbance in The Force, and knew the Ilum crystal had caused it.  He looked to see if his padawan sensed it, after all, Anakin was still learning.  Anakin pointed out that the lightsaber was ahead on the left.  The only house on the block that wasn’t dark happened to be the one the lightsaber was in front of.  Obi-Wan told Anakin not to get it and suggested they go around the corner.  Anakin asked if they were being watched and Obi-Wan said he didn’t know.  Obi-Wan then pointed out that they may react suddenly to a sound or sight outside the house.  He reached out with The Force and turned on Lorana’s lightsaber.  The snap hiss of the blade cut some branches in the hedge, but the hilt held firm.  Suddenly, a neighboring house door opened and a Brolf wondered acrossed the street to look at the lightsaber.  The Brolf turned and moved the lightsaber gingerly, trying to figure out how to turn it off.  Obi-Wan stood up from behind the hedge and told the Brolf he could turn it off, and he did so, using The Force.  The Brolf hurled the lightsaber at Obi-Wan as it tried to yank a blaster from out of it’s tunic.  Of course, Obi-Wan using his Jedi reflexes, was able to have his lightsaber out and deflected the shot while he caught Lorana’s waning lightsaber hilt……

Leave a Reply

