‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 8 (Part 3)

It’s Friday.  End of the week!!  Not a payday, but any Friday could be a could Friday to me.  It was quite a busy day for me.  We all got up this morning and I had Heather with me for one more morning as she will be the closing shift manager tonight and tomorrow night.  So, she was able to help me get Tara going for school once again.  I got to work and you could tell things were going to be different just from the demeanor in the building when you walked in the door.  First, we got an email saying that all the students’ lockers would be cleaned out by the end of the day today.  We also got told that all the staff were going to work lunch considering the food fight that occurred yesterday.  It was understandable considering the situation that occurred.

I didn’t have any classes to teach, per say, this morning.  Instead, I relieved teachers who were proctoring exams all day long.  It wasn’t too bad and I managed to get caught up on some of my Star Wars book reading since I’ve fallen behind from what I’ve needed for my blog.  I’m actually blogging ahead of my reading at this point and that’s why I’ve fallen behind in my blog.  It’s not because I’m not writing my blog in time, but because I’m not reading my book fast enough.  Sorry.  Anyway, I was able to catch up on some of my reading and hope to have my blog caught up by next week sometime.  We’ll have to see if that becomes a reality.

After school got done, I waited in my classroom for the SMASH students and then we headed over to McArthur School for the “Relay for Life” event.  Luckily, one of our members lives right acrossed the street from the school so I was able to park in his driveway so that we were close enough to not have to worry about parking at the school.  We met up with Jim and got ready for our performance.  During our SMASH performance, we learned a great many things.  We learned that it’s hard to hear each other when we are in an outdoor arena.  We learned that we can actually send crowds away instead of attracting them.  We learned that Mr. Lewis with Bells Paulsy has a hard time playing trombone.  We learned that playing in the sun can be hot.  And most importantly, we learned that we really need a sound system wherever we can go.  Anyway, just before our performance, Heather dropped off the kids as she had to get to work and they hung out with me during our SMASH performance.

As soon as we got done with SMASH, I took the kids to Wendy’s to eat some dinner with Heather.  Unfortunately, shortly after we got there, a bus hit the store and Heather had to get online to help with getting the bus members out of the store.  So, we really didn’t have dinner together at all.  The kids and I ate and then grabbed a Frosty Float and headed home.  Once we got home, the kids sat at the dinner table and ate their Frosty Floats and I got out the mower and started mowing the second property.  I mowed until the mower ran out of gas and I figured that was a sign that it was time for me to stop for the night.  I grabbed my Frosty Float and headed downstairs and vegged for the night.  I caught up on the blog a little and watched the movie “John Tucker Must Die”.  Not a bad movie, but not one I would have raced to the theater to go see either.

Okay, time to talk about Part 3 of Chapter 8 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 8 (Part 3):  Then Riske told them that Jhompfi and his friends have all disappeared.  Obi-Wan then told Riske that the Jedi padawan that he met earlier has disappeared with them, and Riske said that was a shame.  Obi-Wan asked Riske if he knew where they may be and Riske said if he knew he would be looking for them.  Riske told them that he doubts Jhompfi or any of his pals would be heading home anytime soon, but that he’s got their homes under surveillance.  He said he was going back to the hotel to chekc on security there, he felt that if there was going to be an attack, it would be tonight at the hotel.  Riske revealed that he almost had put a tracker on Lorana when he met her and Obi-Wan said he wished Riske would have.  Riske gave them the frequency and encryption to one of his comlinks.  He told them to contact him if they heard anything.  Anakin asked what they should do now and Obi-Wan said they need to tell Master C’Baoth.  Maybe he can help them sense where Lorana is.  Anakin suggested that all the Jedi should carry trackers and Obi-Wan muttered under his breath and told Anakin to never mind…..

Leave a Reply

