‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 8 (Part 2)

It’s Tuesday.  Heather had to work the morning shift again, so she was off to work early again this morning.  This morning went smooth, but not as smooth as yesterday morning.  Tara, my non-morning child, was extremely slow in getting herself going this morning.  By the time I got out of the shower, she hadn’t even decided what outfit she was going to wear to school yet.  By this point I knew this morning wasn’t going to be easy.  I barely got my kids out the door on time to get Ruth to the bus stop and Austin and Tara to the babysitters to make sure they were there for their bus.

I got to school and scrambled to get ready for my last full day with my classes.  My sixth graders are starting their finals today.  My seventh graders will probably be coming close to finishing their finals today and my eighth graders are doing their final Jeopardy game today.  We got through classes and it was a little rough, but we were under pressure considering it was the last full day of classes I had with them.  My students did well considering how much pressure is being put upon them.

I got done with school and came home and got a chance to do some yard work around the house.  I rushed to get some dinner in my mouth and then rushed out the door to my Vestal Marching Band Staff meeting.  I got a chance to see Jonathan’s new house which is very nice and reminded me a lot of our house.  It doesn’t look like much from the road, but is much bigger inside than it looks.  We had our meeting and I had a chance to get to know our staff members a little better over two cans of Guiness.  Heather called me about half-way through the meeting to let me know that she got called into work.  So, I rushed home and took over watching the kids and she went to work till about midnight or so.  I, however, got a chance to watch “So You Think You Can Dance” and got a chance to relax for a little bit and then headed to bed, alone.  Like most of the nights when Heather’s at work.

Okay, let’s cover Part 2 of Chapter 8 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 8 (Part 2):  The covered Brush House ring was like any other poverty striken place in The Republic.  Obi-Wan liked walking into places like this as the locals seemed nice and less politically oriented.  As Anakin pondered where they should start, a low pitched voice told him to get out of the way.  As Obi-Wan whipped around, he had his hand on his lightsaber till he saw the face of the stranger.  Obi-Wan said hello to Riske.  Riske aske for them to “step into his office” and all three of them disappeared into the shadows.  Riske asked them what they were doing here and Obi-Wan said they were looking for a Brolf named Jhompfi, because he stole some burn thrusters.  Riske told them that Jhompfi also stole explosives, a stabilization system, and alloy pakcing cylindars.  Obi-Wan said that someone’s building a homemade misslie, Riske said maybe two or three of them…..

Leave a Reply

