‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 4 (Part 4)

Okay, it’s Tuesday and I had convinced myself that today would be easier than yesterday as far as technology is concerned.  In some ways it was, in others it was worse.  I woke up the usual time this morning and left for work.  Once I got to work, I had an unusual surprise in that my podcast was finally online and published so others could download Episode #10.  Of course, they didn’t reset my stats from last month, so it’ll only be a matter of time before my podcast will be shut down for going over it’s bandwidth.  I’m becoming overly angry with Podomatic, but what can I expect from a site that hosts podcasts for free?  I just can’t afford anything else and until I can, I’ll just have to deal.  Anyway, that’s the good news.  The bad news, because of Marching Band I was unable to get all of he recording I wanted to do last night done.  That means I have to finish converting and writing the DVD today and tonight and then I have to record and then publish the next Special Edition by the end of the night tonight!!  Somehow, I just don’t see that happening.  We’ll have to see.

I taught my classes today and while I taught them, I made three separate attempts to write the Oklahoma DVD and all three attempts failed.  For several reasons.  First, my laptop isn’t fast enough to run the program at the right speeds that writes the DVD.  Second, I’m writing to a USB hooked up DVD Writer and it just seems so slow.  Third, the size of files I’m dealing with just seem massive.  I don’t know if it has something to do with what Visual Communicator is doing with them, but they just seem to be massive sized files.  Finally, I just don’t think my computer likes the Sony DVD Writer I’m using.  Sometimes it can detect the writer and other times it seems as though it can’t even find the DVD Writer.  Right, plug and play technology.  It never seems to quite work that way.

So, after a day of frustration, I decided to head home quickly and try it again.  Of course, it froze in the middle of writing, AGAIN!!!  Frustration!!  So, I gave up and ate dinner with the family.  I went downstairs and quickly recorded the Intro and Outro for Special Edition #4 of TJCS and then tried to write a DVD again.  This time, I decided to let it run all night long.  I went to bed around one in the morning, and Heather said she would come home around two in the morning and check on it.  Well, you’ll have to find out tomorrow what happened.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 4 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 4 (Part 4):  Then Thrawn directed his questions at Car’das.  Car’das knew that Thrawn was like a teacher looking for the right asnwer and just hadn’t received it yet.  Then Car’das looked at one of the aliens and deduced it was too tall to have done these repairs.  Then Thrawn said to Maris that the ship has been repaired several times over, but not by it’s owners.  Then Maris figured it out.  They were slavers.  Thrawn asked them if The Republic would condone this and Maris said of course not!!  Car’das said that The Republic has droids to do menial taks and Thrawn tells them that they do not have droids out here.  Thrawn asked to see one, but Qennto told him that they didn’t have any with them on this trip.  Thrawn asked how they knew of slavery and Car’das said they knew of a few cultures that use it.  Qennto asked if they were done, but Thrawn insisted upon showing them more…..

Leave a Reply

