‘Star Wars: Outbound Flight’ – Chapter 1 (Part 3)

Friday.  End of the week.  Not a pay day, but a Friday none the less.  I got up and got myself going for school fairly early today.  I was excited because I was able to again use the library for research with my students and many of them have very interesting projects coming together.  I have few groups that are still fighting my rules about finding a song without swear words in it.  Several of my students think they don’t even exist.  I explained to them that only about 5% of American music has an NC-17 rating on it and they may need to choose something they wouldn’t normally listen to.  For some, this is going over like a box of rocks!!  School went very well, but I couldn’t wait to get home.  I felt this way for several reasons.

First off, by the time tonight was done, I had red paint on both of my gauntlets and one of them was close to being done.  The other needs black put on it by tomorrow and I’ll need to lacquer both of them with about four coats of lacquer.  This is making me excited because I’m beginning to see the end of the tunnel on this costume and this couldn’t happen too soon for me.  This costume has literally been about four months coming.  I also had lots of plans for this evening as well.

I’ve fallen behind in my blogging (like none of you knew that by now!) and I have also fallen behind in my podcast.  The plan was to release my next podcast on May 15th, but I may delay it to the weekend of the 30th anniversary of Star Wars.  It would make sense and would fit in with the anniversary.  I also want to do something else with my podcast that weekend, I just haven’t figured out what just yet.

Well, I got neither of these accomplished.  Instead, I got sucked into a “Star Wars battle” this evening by the kids.  They were battling outside with the neighbors using Dart guns and lightsabers.  So, I thought now would be a good time to test out my new lightsaber from Lind Lightsabers.  It worked out awesomely!!  Not only was the lightsaber really bright, but it held up to playing with my kids.  Honestly, I LOVE the lightsaber.  I’ll be honest, I was the worst kid outside when it came to playing Star Wars and I put on part of my armor and goofed around with the kids.  It was loads of fun and the neighbors now know that I have an obsession with Star Wars.  I can’t believe they didn’t know that before this point.  We had a blast this evening and my kids had a blast as well.

Little does my wife know about what goes on in my house while she’s gone ;)!!  It was overall, a good night and when we got done, I went downstairs and worked on finishing my holsters for my Maverick’s and my belt as well.  I watched “Star Wars:  The Phantom Menace” with my kids while I was working on my projects.  The kids went to bed pretty late and so did I.  Tomorrow is filled with lots of work and lots to do.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 1 of “Star Wars:  Outbound Flight” by Timothy Zahn…..


Chapter 1 (Part 3):  It took Qennto four hours to shut down the out of control hyperdrive, even after turning down several offers for help from Maris and Car’das.  From what Car’das could gather, they left the Outer Rim and Wild Space and were now in uncharted territory.  Once they got out of hyperspace, Maris ran a location check and they were able to see a cluster in front of them as they did a search for systems nearby.  They deciphered that the closest system was a quarter light year ahead and Qennto said the back-up hyperdrive should make it there.  Car’das implored him to stay, but Qennto insisted that he didn’t like open space.  Qennto and Maris also pointed out that a decent system would have a planet they could hang out at and get some resources from.  They came out of their short hyper jump and Qennto asked Maris if she has figured out where they are and Maris says the computer’s still working, but it may be 250 light years into unknown space.  She was sure they were going to be lat showing up to Comra.  Qennto remained optimistic saying that it would only take a day or so to fix the hyperdrive which would only put them a week behind schedule.  Car’das let Qennto know they were being hailed.  When Qennto answered, it was Progga the Hutt on the other end inquiring about his secret hoard.  Why else would he have flown this deep into space?…..

Leave a Reply

