‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 20 (Part 3)

Friday.  End of the week, but my day was not going to be easy and I knew that from the minute I woke up this morning.  I woke up a little late because I was just so gosh darned tired from this past week.  I snoozed the alarm twice which I haven’t done since long before Christmas.  I got myself ready and headed to school.  I kept my lesson plans simple for today.  My eighth graders watched videos on the “History of Jazz” by Ken Burns.  My seventh graders did a lesson on music history and my sixth graders watched video of Season Six of “American Idol”.  This helped my school day go along smoothly.  One of the tech crew that has been helping me this year is a high school-er.  He’s a student I had in Marching Band and it’s been good to see him again.  Well, he showed up right after school and offered to set up the sound and light systems while I went home for a little bit.  I was glad for the help and thankful that he was willing to do this.

I came home and took a very brief nap, just to get through tonight.  I also worked on spray painting armor and then we all ate dinner together.  We got back to the school in plenty of time for the musical.

The students did another amazing performance tonight as well.  It was a great send-off to such a hard working cast and crew.  I was very proud of both performances and can’t believe that the performances are over.  Tonight, Ruth ended up being my camera person and I hope she did okay.  She really seemed to know what was going on.  She became really worried because she ran out of battery on the end of the last song.  I told her not to worry about it and that it was far beyond her control.  At the end of the musical tonight, we all got our “thank you” cards and Heather and I got one to AppleBees.  So, we figure we’ll go out on a date night while my parents have the kids in June and go to AppleBees and then a movie.  Haven’t even decided which movie yet, but it’s a good time away.

We got done packing up the essentials tonight after the performance.  For me, this took some serious amount of time.  I had a lot to take care of.  Dry ice, crock pot, mics borrowed from the church, radios, and much, much more.  While I did this, Heather took the kids home to a neighbor who was supposed to meet her at our house to babysit the kids.  Well, she was running late and I ended up locking the doors and turning out the lights to the auditorium as well.  I left a mess behind in my room, but figure I have Monday morning to take care of that mess.  Heather came back to the school and helped me get a bunch of the equipment into our car.  We then headed over to an “adult” party at Ruby Tuesday’s where we had some adult beverages and had some nice conversation.  It just felt good to wind down after such a long week and stressful month.  Heather even got invited to a day of “pampering” while I go to Rochester for the Lilac Parade in a few weeks.  This will help her not remember that I’m gone with the kids.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 20 (Part 3):  Ghez Hokan had little ammunition left.  He had a vibroblade, lightsaber, and two Verpine rounds left.  He felt a pain in his arm and realized he was bleeding.  He wondered what kind of wound it was that would make his adversary scream like that.  He heard the soldier screaming for his sergeant, and equal to screaming for his mother Hokan thought.  Hokan couldn’t help but end his life because he couldn’t let a Mandalorian die in such a wimpy way, even if it was a clone.  Hokan got close to the clone and decided to pull out the vibroblade.  The lightsaber would be too earily like Jengo’s death on Geonosis.  As he raised his arm, Hokan heard the sound of a lightsaber.  It was too late!!…..

Leave a Reply

