‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 20 (Part 2)

Thursday and it was play premiere day.  My day started like any other day would expect to be started.  I was still exhausted when I woke up this morning but got myself going, as late as it was.  I got to school and told myself that I would not go out on stage till later in the day.  I held my promise and checked the temperature for later tonight to see how cool that stage was.  It was plenty cool which is important for the dry-ice to work.  Once school was over, it was time for me to work on other aspects of the auditorium.

My crew showed up to my room right after school and we went out and did what needed to be done for tonight’s performance.  We set up the microphones and the light system and got things going.  We also taped down all the cords on the floor to be OSHA compliant.  That took some serious time as we were dealing with all the cords for the light and sound system.  The cords backstage as well as all the cords for the crock pots for the dry ice.  We prepped everything and then Heather showed up with more materials we needed.  Including a huge block of dry ice that we’ll use tonight and tomorrow night.  After we were done getting the auditorium ready for tonight’s performance, we all took some time to eat.  We had pizza, chips, soda, and cookies.  All the things a growing teenage boy needs!!  After a while, the cast and directors started showing up.  My crew got a little over excited, but that’s to be expected.

The performance tonight went amazing!!  The cast surprised even me.  Honestly, they put my heart and mind at ease.  I was really proud of both the cast and crew.  The tech crew did as well as I had expected of them.  It really was a well put together performance and all the audience gave us a standing ovation at the end of the performance.  I always tell myself that this is why I do this and volunteer on top of it all.  We got done with tonight’s performance and I was exhausted.  I came home and went downstairs with Heather and pretty much crashed for the rest of the night.  Tomorrow night is another performance and I  know I’ll be exhausted all day tomorrow.  But, tomorrow is another day.

Okay, even in my exhaustion, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Travis.  BUT, BEFORE WE DO, AND IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT NEEDS TO BE MADE.  TO MAKE YOU ALL AWARE, THE NEXT BOOK WE WILL BE REVIEWING WILL BE “STAR WARS: OUTBOUND FLIGHT” BY TIMOTHY ZAHN.  THE CHANGE HAS COME BECAUSE THE BOOK WAS RECENTLY RELEASED IN SOFT COVER.  MY BLOG WILL REFLECT THIS SOON……


Chapter 20 (Part 2):  Suddenly Darman realized he wasn’t getting a response, just like on Geonosis.  He told Etain that their helmets were offline.  Etain insisted they were alive, but Zey said they had to go.  He reminded her that the Trade Federation now knew of thier presence and Uthan needed to be treated.   Etain insisted that they can’t abandon these clones, she knew they are alive.  Zey looked upset and told her she was comprising the mission.  Etain said that these men are not expendable and Zey said they are all expendable.  Etain retorted saying that she is then expendable too.  Then Darman stepped in and offered to go and told Etain to stay with Atin.  Suddenly, Etain pulled out her lightsaber, ignited it and held it close to the power conduit.  She told Zey that either they all get off Qiilura or no one does.  The two Jedi argued further about the lives of soldiers, men, and clones.  Zey then backed down.  He told Darman to follow her and the others.  Etain said she knew this was gross disobedience and that this would probably mean she would not become a Jedi Knight.  As they left into the woods, Darman looked back at Zey who looked on with a proud grin……

Leave a Reply

