‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 18 (Part 3)

Okay, it’s Wednesday and things were busy still.  I got up this morning as I always do and got all of my things together for school.  I had a lot to drag upstairs for school today.  I had to bring in my crock pot for the dry ice effect we’re going to use, I also had to bring in the two lavalier microphones that I borrowed from our church for the musical, and then to top it all off, we need to borrow my sound board from my podcasting equipment.  So, needless to say, I had to drag in about fifty pounds of equipment into school.

My school day went rather well.  I showed my eighth grade classes the previously produced music videos and we critiqued and talked about what they would all like to do differently and what we considered to be good ideas that were already used.  Then my sixth grade classes started their first lesson in their workbooks on how to read clefs and my seventh grade class did the same thing.  So far, my classes are a real pleasure and it almost upsets me to have these classes this quarter because this quarter is so short.

We got to the end of the day and the rehearsal went okay tonight, considering we were missing quite a few from the cast and crew because of the trip that was going on today to NYC.  The rehearsal went as well as could be expected.  I guess you could say it wasn’t horrible, but it could have been a little better than it was.

Heather met me at school with a whole bunch of things for the tech crew to use later on.  We now have enough batteries for the performances next week (I like to use fresh batteries for every performance), we have enough duct tape to tape down all the chords in the auditorium, and we have dry ice now to try tomorrow for Act I on Friday.  Luckily, we were able to get repaid right away for the stuff we got for the musical.  Heather had decided that tonight would be a good night to go out for dinner just to treat ourselves a little.  We decided to head to Subway on our way home.  We then went and got some chips and soda and headed home and had some dinner at home.

Tonight, I was able to finish putting together my Mando helmet by putting the screening on the back of the helmet.  I plan on putting in my webbing for the helmet this weekend so that I don’t have to rely on the foam padding I’m using now.  The hope is that it will create some space in the helmet to get in a fan into the helmet so I can circulate some air inside there.  I also kept painting my Mando armor and I’m now getting to the point that I’m taping and putting flames on almost everything.  It’s going to look so cool if I can get it to work.  We’ll have to see.  I also have a lot of gauntlet work that will need to get done this weekend as I have come to realize that Heather will be gone next weekend which means that I will need to work without her around and then I only have one weekend left before the Lilac parade.  That means the pressure is on because I am now realizing that I don’t have Heather to sew for me next weekend, so it will all have to be done the following week.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 18 (Part 3):  Hokan lined up the scientists and told Hurati to wait for him before he kills the lights.  Hurati asked about the speeders.  Hokan said they would have to run then.  Hokan turned to one of the scientists and asked her, her name.  He told Cheva that when the lights go out, she needs to hang on to him and run.  Hokan told Hurati to take the rear and not loose any of them.  He figured he had a better chance of defending the scientists out in the wild than in a facility with it’s doors jammed open.  Hokan slid on his Mando helmet and told Hurati to turn off the lights.

Leave a Reply

