‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 18 (Part 1)

Ahh, Monday.  It was a snow day and we got a foot and a half of snow.  What a day it was!!  I was excited because I had the day off, and we still had power.  Things started off pretty good.  By quarter after nine or so, while the snow was still barreling down, I told the kids that we should go outside and start to shovel the snow.  Heather still had to be at work at 11, and I told the kids that she would probably be leaving early as it was.  So, we went outside to shovel.  What a mess that was!!  It was that wet, sloppy, ice-packed snow.  It was also heavy.  As we were shoveling I was watching tree branches falling all over the yard and our neighbors yard.  I told our kids that they would have to be careful of the falling limbs as they can be extremely dangerous.  Just as I had said that, I heard a crack in the neighbors yard and I knew what it meant, so I yelled out, “clear!!”  A tree fell on one of their cars.  Luckily, it did not damage and it was a small tree.  The roots literally pulled right out of the ground.

We finished our driveway and then I had Ruth go over and get my saw and we cut the tree away from the car.  No damage, just a cracked tail light.  Easily replacable.  The entire morning was starting to make me nervous.  I knew it was only a matter of time before all the power went down in the county.  We were hearing of power outages everywhere, but seemed to be doing okay.  Heather headed to work and I went downstairs and started “Bond-O” ing my holsters for my Mavericks.  As I was working, the power suddenly went out.  So, I started preparing for the worst.  NYSEG had warned that there were people that were going to loose power today and they may loose it for up to a week or more.  So, I told the kids that they weren’t to go in to the fridge or freezer for any reason whatsoever.  I was kind of upset at the loss of power because I had massive plans for the day today.  Namely, getting caught up on my blog.  I’m sure that if you’re reading this blog right now, it’s not caught up at this moment.  I just have been barried with my Mando costume and play rehearsals.  Right down to the point that I haven’t even recorded any segments for the next episode of TJCS.  This concerns me a little, but I’ve come to the conclusion, that I’m not going to release that episode until later in the month of May (Maybe even the end of May) to get some material from Binghamton IVA for that episode and to celebrate the 30th Anniversary of Star Wars.

Anyway, with all my plans now down the tubes, I decided to go to plan B.  I grabbed the current Star Wars book and headed to Heather and my bedroom and finished reading the book.  This way I’m a little ahead and may have a chance to catch-up on my blog by next week.  Maybe.  Anyway, I worked on finishing the book (had one chapter left by the end of the day).  Heather and I ate lunch and Dinner at Wendy’s since it was warm and since Wendy’s had heat and power.  We finally got our power back by midnight tonight.  Just in time for the pipes not to freeze in our house.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 18 (Part 1):  “The lack of perfect knowledge is called the fog of war.  You can sit around and complain about it, or you can fight the enemy.  A truly great army is one that has to rattle it’s saber to win a war.” – Sergeant Kal Skirata. – Niner told “The Majestic” to stop firing.  He moved forward and looked through his microbinoculars, nothing was moving.  H had almost wished that this was still a training mission.  Niner asked Atin and Darman where they were.  Atin said in a tunnel dragging a doctor’s body.  Niner asked how she was injured and Atin said Darman had sedated her because he was tired  of struggling with her.  Niner asked how long till facility implosion and Atin said at this rate of movement, a half an hour.  Niner decided that they needed to keep the others in the facility right where they were for at least the next half hour.  Niner radioed “The Majestic”.  They told him that the Techno Union ship was now incapacitated and they already sent their gunship to Omega’s rendezvous point.  Niner crawled over to Etain and Fi and suggested they head for the evac. point.  Fi refused and Jinart said that Darman and Atin were going out the quickest way she knew how.  They looked at Etain and asked if there was anything she could do.  She suggested that she may be able to part the soil in the shallowest part of the tunnel, if she can picture it.  They gave her a blaster and told her to use her lightsaber if she misses with the blaster…..

Leave a Reply

