‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 17 (Part 4)

Okay, Saturday and we had a lot to do and take care of.  We got up a little early today because Rent a Center was supposed to show up this morning to pick up the T.V. and take it to get repaired.  It will make me very happy to see it repaired because I’m getting really bothered by the green spots on the T.V.  While we waited, we decided to start watching a mini-marathon of “Deadliest Catch”.  Needless to say, over this break, I have gotten my wife addicted to this show.  What some of these guys do to fish is insane!!  Anyway, I managed to finish working on one of my holsters today.  It’s pretty rough, but I think it will work.  I also found a template for the gauntlets last night and managed to cut them out this morning.  I also managed to finish sanding off all the parts for tomorrow for them to be formed.  I think everything is coming together very nicely.  The cutting took most of the morning and the sanding finished out the beginning of the afternoon.

Then Rent a Center showed up.  They came downstairs and tried to see if there was a way for them to fix the T.V.  I tried to be as brutally honest with the lady as possible without being rude.  I tried to explain to her that I am kind of a technology geek and I exhausted all the resources about what may be wrong with the T.V. already.  She didn’t really believe me much and tried to do things herself.  Of course, she came to the same conclusion I did.  She also thinks that it may be the mirrors on the T.V.  Maybe that’s because that’s exactly what I said.  Anyway, she looked at the entrance to my basement and said that the T.V. they brought as a replacement would definetly not fit down the stairs that lead to the basement.  So, she told me they would take my current T.V. and would leave and head back to the store, pick up another and be back before dinner time.  I explained to the lady that it was imperative that I get an HD style T.V. and that it have a decent quality of picture to it since I was having Binghamton IVA at my house in a month.

After they left, I went upstairs and looked at the last bit of the helmet that I had painted and decided that tonight I would be able to at least take all the tape off of the helmet and get an idea of what the helmet looked like overall.  If it fits what I want, then all I have to do is do my lacquer layers and then my helmet will roughly be done.  I decided now was the time to start working on catching up with my book for this blog.  I had fallen behind simply because I have been spending so much time focusing on making my costumes and armor.  At about three o’clock or so Rent A Center came back with a DLP equipped RCA T.V.  It’s a nice T.V., but I realized now that I have to deal with two or three remotes again until my Mitsubishi returns.  What a bummer!!  I hate having to do that.  Once I got the T.V. set, we went upstairs and ate dinner and Heather headed to work.  After dinner the kids cleaned up the table so I could take all the tape off the helmet.  Man, this helmet looks totally awesome!!!  I put it on and walked into Austin ’s dark bed room and scared the heck out of the kid.  It was great to see something finished with this costume before this week was out.  Now I have two blasters, a HUGE rifle and a helmet.  I’m well on my way to getting this costume put together.

After that, I decided that I would go downstairs and stop doing anything and would just watch the movie “Eragon”.  I was glad I did!!  I really liked the movie.  I liked the special effects and I especially liked the dragons that were created in the movie.  It was really enjoyable and I’ll be honest, I regret not having seen this movie in the theaters unlike other movies from the year.  I’ve never read the book so I have no way of comparing with the book.   So, for those of you who are upset about it not following the book at all, I have no idea where you’re coming from.  If you look at this movie strictly from a Sci-Fi movie fan’s point of view, it’s actually pretty well put together and has had some nice direction put behind it.  On the other hand, I had a hard time with the plot line and not because of the plot.  I had a hard time because two of the characters looked almost identical, so I had a hard time trying to figure out which one was which.  The one thing I really like about this movie is Jeremy Irons’ role.  This is the Jeremy Irons I have come to know and love and for once he’s the good guy and not the bad guy.  They also set up the movie for a wonderful plot twist at the end so if they wanted a sequel, they could provide one.  All in all a good movie and a must see for any Sci-Fi fan.

Okay, after the movie I went straight to bed because I knew tomorrow was going to be a fun, but long day.

Okay, let’s get away from that and let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 17 (Part 4):  Hokan knew the lightsaber just wasn’t working fast enough.  Hokan then heard a hiss of a door and Hokan realized it was Hurati in the control room.  He was slumped over the panel and he first thought it was because he was upset.  Then Hurati looked at him with a grin on his face.  He told Hokan to check the status board, where it appeared that bulkheads two, six, and nine were now jammed open.  Hurati told him he could open the others, but they would be jammed open.  One by one they cleared and the emergency doors opened.  Hokan said he could now love Hurati like his own son.  He drew his blaster and raced into the room where he left Uthan…..

Leave a Reply

