‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 16 (Part 5)

Okay, it’s Monday of the first day of vacation and I have a lot to do.  I have it convinced in my head that I will get it all done this week.  I managed to finish cutting my Sintra this morning while I watched Dr. Phil and some other various as sundries of shows. I didn’t pay too much attention to them as I was busy doing the cutting.  Heather came home around ten o’clock or so from dropping some mail off at the post office and told me to get into my Jedi costume so we could get going.  I pressed her for more information and she told me that she had found out the location of the local R2-D2 Mailbox.  Now, for those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, let me explain.  The United States Postal Service is helping Lucasfilm Ltd. celebrate the 30th Anniversary of Star Wars.  To do that, they have decided to come out with Star Wars products that will come out in May.  These include Star Wars stamps, envelopes, and other mail type things.  Another thing they are doing is distributing R2-D2 painted mailboxes all over the country.  TheForce.net is challenging Star Wars fans to find their local box.  Well, for weeks now I’ve been searching for one in Binghamton and couldn’t find one.  Heather found out from a friend at the post office where the one in Binghamton was.

So, Heather warmed up the car while I got in my Jedi costume and Austin got in his Darth Vader costume.  Even Tara and Ruth were pretty excited about the idea.  We then made our way over to the Binghamton University Campus.  At first we tried just driving around to find the mailbox, but no luck.  Twenty minutes later, we found nothing and realized that Binghamton University campus was a lot bigger than we had ever figured it really was.  So, we had to employ some help.  I told Heather that it must be by the local Post Office and any college campus would have one.  We asked the local information booth and the lady directed us toward the local Post Office.  On the way, we got lost and had some help and finally found the mailbox.  It was pretty awesome!! We were very excited to find it and took a bunch of pictures that you can see to the left in an Album titled “R2D2 Mailbox Sighting in Binghamton, NY”.  We got home around one o’clock or so and Austin and I were freezing cold.  It was only 35 degrees outside when we took those pictures and we had walked around for about an hour before finding the box, so we were pretty cold.

We had some soup for lunch and then went downstairs.  I started watching part of the Season 1 set of “Farscape” I borrowed from Charlie while I worked on a design of blaster holsters for my soon to be completed Mavericks.  The plan this week was to put my Maverick together tomorrow and then put my second Maverick together Wednesday.  Let’s hope that I can keep to the plan.  I finished with the design and cut it out of Sintra and then next thing I knew, it was dinner time.  I decided to take the rest of the night off from my work with Sintra and finished putting the last coat of orange on my helmet this evening and watched our usual T.V. shows with my wife.  My wife has truly joined the Dark Side.  She’s now helping me find Star Wars things like mailboxes.  I think she figures that if she can’t beat me, she might as well join me!!

Okay, let’s continue this talk about Star Wars and talk about Part 5 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 16 (Part 5):  Two blasts, one below the villa, the other below the facility.  Niner told Fi to hold while he checked on Darman and Atin who responded saying they were okay.  As Niner looked through binoculars, a Trandoshan officer and the droids scrambled to look out into the fields and woods.  Darman said they were about to enter and would need distractions.  Niner told Fi to take out some of the tinnies by the barn and then open fire.  Fi accidentally blew the whole barn and got droids marching onto their position.  They opened fire with everything and the droids were getting close.  Droid schrapnel was everywhere as Fi used grenades to try and break-off the attack.  Then the droids stopped coming and Niner feared they were onto their overall plan.  So, Niner called on “The Majestic” one more time.  Niner asked them to attack the ground between the facilities and then gave them the sit rep of the two teams.  “The Majestic” warned them that there was still a Techno Union starship in orbit and they were not sure of it’s intentions.  Everything was now silent and Fi noticed that Etain was looking exhausted.  She explained that deflecting droid debris was becoming draining on her.  As she said that, the ground to the north was being shot by repulsar lasers form “The Majestic”…..

Leave a Reply

