‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 16 (Part 3)

I am totally exhausted!!!  To make matters a little harder, Heather found out last night that we had a play rehearsal for church today at 9:30 a.m.  So much for sleeping in.  We got up around eight o’clock, which gave me a total of about six hours of sleep and we took the kids to church.  Heather and I then headed to Wal Mart and Lowes to get some last minute things for Easter.  Well, Wal Mart for food for Easter and Lowes for some stuff for outside.  I can’t believe how cold things have gotten around here!  It’s the day before Easter and it’s snowing in Binghamton!!  Hey Al Gore, if there’s Global Warming, then you gotta get your ass to Binghamton, because it ain’t globally warm here!!

Anyway, we got done, picked up the kids and went home.  Heather worked on some things upstairs and I went downstairs and watched the first two episodes of the first season of “Farscape” which I’ve borrowed from Charlie.  While I did that, I worked on printing out the blueprints for my Mando Armor on Cardstock.  Once done with that, I started working on tracing out the designs on the Sintra.  I got most of the armor on one sheet and then some.  I was able to find some designs for gauntlets and came up with my own design for knee armor.  I spent most of my day doing that and helping Heather.  I tried to get her to slow down considering she had surgery yesterday, but she is who she is. Evidently, she felt great today and not much was going to stop her.  She has most of this coming week off, which is nice.  We actually get a chance to spend some time together and be a couple.  We haven’t been that since the school year started and I think it was a fluke that we even see each other anymore.  The day seemed to be flying by and I couldn’t believe that got to dinner time when we did.  I guess time does fly when you’re playing with Sintra.  I’m looking forward to tomorrow not just because it’s Easter, which is a cool day to be a parent to begin with, but because I will be cutting my Sintra tomorrow and I can’t wait to begin “playing”.  This is going to be a fun and adventurous week.  But for me, instead of for my school kids.

Okay let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 16 (Part 3):  Darman and Atin instructed Jinart to go back to Niner in case they needed her help there.  As they dug, Darman wondered if they should shore-up their now-built tunnel.  Atin pointed out that it should only go one way.  No point in going back.  Darman began to miss Etain when Atin suddenly hit the metal of the pipe with the entrencher.  They drilled small holes all the way around the pipe to create a bigger hole.  As they got to the bottom of the pipe, oozed started to pour out their holes.  Their digging occurred for an hour now and Darman, sick of sweat, took off his helmet and the stench became even worse now.  Atin took a drink of water and handed it to Darman and reminded him of fatigue and dehydration.  Darman took out the ram, walked over to the pipe, counted to three and rammed the hole open.  Sludge came pouring into the tunnel now and Darman commented that their armor needs to be matte black next time.  They faught back laughter as even Atin took off his helmet now.  Darman then put his helmet on and told Niner they were in…..

Leave a Reply

