‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 15 (Part 5)

Wednesday.  Two days until break and my next two days are not going to be easy in my classes.  Not only are we close to spring break, but I am going to be giving finals over the next two days.  As I have suspected.  The classes I suspect will do well on the final are doing well and those I suspected would struggle are struggling.  I’m really starting to look forward to Friday as discussion is beginning about our Star Wars theme night for the hockey game with the Binghamton Senators.  We’re really hoping it turns out to be a blast and we’re really hoping that things go well and that we get a good turn out both for Star Wars costumers and for the audience.

It was quite busy for me today.  On top of not getting many breaks for giving examinations in my room, tracking down students who are skipping my exams, and tech rehearsal after school, I also had a SMASH rehearsal after that to get to.  Needless to say, it was a busy afternoon and early evening.  When I got home, I expected to find Heather in the middle of her Girl Scout runs, but she told me that the meetings got cancelled because of vacation coming up.  That was a nice change of pace.  I managed to get the last layer of paint on my Longshot tonight and I will be able to start on painting my orange portions of my bucket starting on Saturday.  I hope to have my longshot back together during break as well as my second Maverick which means I will have all of the weapons of my Mando costume done over break.  I also received my Sintra today.  It’s pretty cool stuff, but I won’t have a chance to play around with it until break.  In many ways, I can’t wait to start working on the Sintra for my Mando.  Man, this is going to be so awesome!

I was actually able to enjoy the night tonight with Heather and we actually relaxed together and watched our usual T.V. shows.  It was nice to be able to discuss any fears she may have over here surgery on Friday.  Now, not to shock any of you, she’s not going in for real serious surgery.  We have simply decided that we no longer want to have children, so we have decided to do something permanent about that.  Heather is having an “Essure” plug put into her birth canal.  It’s something new, but the surgery is outpatient and it’s more of a garauntee than even cutting the fallopian tubes.  We have discovered through doctors that the fallopian tubes can actually grow back in one out of every three cases, and knowing us, we’d end up being that “one”.  So, we decided to go with the more modern version and take the risk of technology.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 15 of Karen Traviss’s “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact”…..


Chapter 15 (Part 5):  The Commandos then talked about their intelligence and how it may still not be reliable at this point.  Fi thought to himself the The Republic obviously wanted Uthan alive or they would’ve blasted the facility from space.  Darman then suggested they get in by going under the facility and then fight their way out.  They were looking for tunnels in their holocharts, but there was nothing big enough.  Then it dawned on Jinart that they could use Gdan Warrens.  They may not go right into the pipes, but Darman said they could use entrenching tools to go the rest of the way.  Etain finally asked Jinart why the Gdans avoid her.  She explained that her kind ate Gdans.  They agreed that Atin and Darman would go into the facility while the rest laid down cover fire.  When they got Uthan out, Etain would “urge” her to get to the extraction point and then they would have the facility blown from space.  They all took a stim and agreed they would start at night in four hours.  Etain asked waht would happen fi they fail and Niner said they’d simply send another squad.

Leave a Reply

