‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 15 (Part 1)

Okay, it’s Friday, payday, and I was as busy as all get out.  I also wasn’t feeling too hot and seem to be exhausted beyond belief!!  I think a lot of this has to do with the stress that is surrounding work (which I cannot talk about here) but has to do with how my co-workers are interacting with each other.  I just feel like Rodney King saying, “can’t we all just get along?”  Anyway, I’m not sleeping well at night because of stress and because I’m worried about Heather and her surgery next week and performances and what-not.  I just can’t believe how busy my life has gotten over the past month.  How did I get myself into all of this?  Anyway, school went okay.  Students were fairly well behaved and they were just as ready for the weekend as I was.  A lot of them are really looking forward to next week’s vacation and I can’t say that I blame them.  I am looking forward to it myself.  I’m sure many of you have been attempting to read this blog and are probably reading this a week late at this point.  I just can’t seem to keep up with everything that is going on.  To make matters worse, I’m supposed to be giving finals next week and finish grading papers this week.  As Bill Cosby would say, “RIGHT!!”

I got done with school today and then helped to continue to work on the set.  I felt bad that I couldn’t be of more help, but my children arrived, I had a leave for a SMASH concert and on top of it all I was feeling tired and sick.  It just didn’t add up.  But, I went to Taco Bell and ate dinner there with the kids and felt much better.  Maybe I just needed some food to keep myself going.  You know, low blood sugar and all or something like that.  I got done there and we headed right to Benjamin Franklin elementary for our concert tonight.

When I got there, Mr. Lewis and I ran through some things between ourselves and then ran some things through with the kids.  We then waited for an audience.  We waited and waited and waited.  Not much of an audience showed up!  I believe we may have had thirty to forty people at most.  But hey, the show must go on.  The good news through the night was that I made money by playing the 50/50 at the show.  Of course, I only won $15, but hey, money is money.  I just plan on putting that towards my Mando costume.

I stopped by Heather’s work on the way home tonight to actually spend some time with my wife, since I hadn’t seen her all day.  In our short time together, we exchanged some information and she was able to tell me that we not only got our Tax Return (which will help to payoff some bills), but that she also ordered my Sintra today.  Awesome!!  I should have it by next week so I can start working with it on my break.  That will be loads of fun.  I then went home and had the kids work on laundry while I collapsed in the basement.  What a week!

Okay, enough talk about me and let’s talk about my favorite subject, Star Wars!!!  Let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 15 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 15 (Part 1):  “So how do we justify breeding men to fight for us?  If we simply give in to this idea, then how are we any different from those we consider to be evil?  Do you have any answers Masters? ” – Jed Master Padawan Barden Jusik, addressing the Jedi Council. – Etain woke up from concentration and let Niner know that Guta Nay was dead, she felt it in The Force.  Darman pointed out  that Hokan would have found him sometime and the diversion he may have created may redeem his unfortunate demise.  There was a small scuffle about the statement then they all agreed they were just tired and punchy.  Etain then said that if one life justified many, then what would happen if she were to do the same to one of them.  Darman said they were all made for such things.  Darman also pointed out that Etain will give orders that will inevitably get clones killed.  Etain asked Darman how he felt about killing others, and he said he’s never had tim to think about it.  Darmand then said they would need for her to be a commander and thought to himself tht they’ve all never fought as a squad before…..

Leave a Reply

