‘Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 14 (Part 3)

Okay, I got up and went to school like a typical Tuesday.  I can’t wait until I’m done with the podcasting and video producing in class.  It just seems to take up so much of my time during the day and my time at night as well.  It just seems like everything is hitting me all at once and I can’t seem to handle it all.  Can you tell I’m stressed yet?  There is so much to be done and very little time to get it all done in.  I have to edit videos and podcasts, I have tech rehearsals, I have a podcast to put together for my school’s band and stage band, I have to keep working on my Mando costume (things seem to be rolling along with that), I have papers to grade, I have the end of the quarter coming up, I have to organize some things for our FanForce night on Good Friday, I have to get ready for trooping at Barnes and Nobles this Sunday.  As I said, LOTS to do!!  Oh, and on top of all of that, I have two SMASH performances this weekend!!

I got ready for school and headed to my classes.  We started to wrap up workbook work this week as I want to get all papers graded by Monday of next week so I can concentrate on the finals with my classes.  Things seemed to go well with classes today, but there are other stresses in the building that are mounting, which I cannot discuss here.  Needless to say, I need all your prayers as the stress in my life related to my job is amping up at a pretty high rate.  My hope is to get through the end of April without a heart attack or needing to go on blood pressure medication.  I got done with school and had tech crew rehearsal.  We all came to the conclusion that the other students will not show back up and we distributed jobs amongst the tech crew that was already there.  I’m a little upset, because yet again, I don’t have enough people to have anyone do a camera crew to put together a “behind the scenes” look at our play this year.  All well, I guess you have to make sacrifices somewhere.

I got home and had a ton of work to do.  I got right to grading papers and getting things squared away with my classroom.  Once I finished with this, I headed downstairs and did what I’ve been waiting all day to do.  I put back together my newly painted Maverick Nerf gun and my newly painted front half of the Longshot Nerf gun for my Mando costume.  The best part?  By painting them and doing them the way I did, they’re still fully functional as Nerf guns!  I love it!  If you want to check out the pics, take a look at my “Mando Costume Progress” link in my album.  Things are coming along rather nicely.  I hope to tear apart the other guns and start working on them this weekend.  Things are looking up in the Mando making costume business at my house.

There were other things that I tried to get accomplished tonight, but just didn’t quite get to them.  Including updating the SMASH website, trying to get flyers done for Sunday (we’re trooping at Barnes and Nobles), and business cards for TJCS for the table at next Friday’s hockey game.  Like I said, lot’s to do and little time to get it done in.  To make things a little tighter, my parents are going to be here this weekend and I’m going to be all over the place.  I even called my mom tonight to warn her.  I don’t think she was too excited at the prospect of me not being around all the time while they visit.  But much of this stuff came up because we had no other choices, or they were last minute decisions, and how could I say no?

Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:Republic Commando – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 14 (Part 3):  Niner looked at the squad’s pile of equipment and was trying to figure out what they could take into battle with them.  Fi suggested they put a cache near their rally point, but Niner pointed out that this would put them in harms way, twice.  Atin offered to carry a lot fo heavy equipment, and Fi suggested he not bet stuck in a small place.  then Etain pointed out the obvious, she could carry equipment as well.  Niner looked at Darman and he suggested the Sarge load her up!  Niner then began explaining his Plan A.  He proceeds to explain that they’ll lay-up and release two remots to have eyes on the facility and the villa.  A remote with ribbon charge will do what damage it can at the villa while Fi covers Darman while he blows the doors on the facility.  Etain said this was all a big risk and admitted that she wouldn’t be much good with only a lightsaber.  Then Fi handed her a Trandoshan array blaster.  Etain said she’d learn to use it quick and reminded them that she still has the ability to move objects using The Force.  Niner said they would rather take Uthan out alive, than taking her out sedated as this would add to their dead weight…..

 

Leave a Reply

