‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 14 (Part 1)

Wow!!  Even my “day of rest” just doesn’t seem like a day of rest anymore!!  I am so exhausted from today I can’t even keep my eyes open as I’m writing this blog at this moment in time.  We got up on time for church this morning and headed right out to church.  But, before I got going, Heather headed over in the morning to pick up the girls.  They look exhausted, but I can tell they had a blast because  they can’t stop talking about it.  Tara especially loved the lock in as it was her first one ever.  We got everybody ready for church and headed out.  I had to sound at church today because the usual sound tech was away on a High School trip.  So, yet again, I was roped into working sound (as usual).  We got done with church and Heather wanted to go to Wal Mart to get some things and get her eyebrows waxed.  Well, I’m glad we made the trip.  First, we found the material for my Mando vest.  We didn’t buy it yet, because we’re waiting on Heather’s bonus check and our tax return before we do.  I also managed to find some cool personal finds for my Star Wars collection.  For those that don’t know, I’ve taken to collecting the Star Wars Titanium ships.  Well, today I found two rare finds at my local Wal Mart.  I found “The Invisible Hand” and the “Firespray”.  We picked those up among other things we needed.

On our way home from church, we stopped at Lowes as Heather has started planning her vegetable garden and has already started seeds inside the house.  Hopefully we’ll get our garden going this year.  We priced out stones for the garden and looked into how much gardening fabric costs to keep the weeds out of the garden.  We got done with that, and bought a Raspberry and Blueberry plant.  We go home and I had to turn around and leave right away to go to a Marching Band meeting to pick out this year’s show.  That meeting went well, and Vestal now has a show picked out for next year and the design concept is starting to come together fairly well.

I had to leave that meeting early as Heather’s brother was coming over for dinner.  We all had a great time and then Heather’s brother left.  Once they left, we got to some personal projects of ours.  The big one for me is that there is only one more coat of Varnish to go on both the Maverick and the front part of the CS-6.  They’re going to look sweet once I put them together on Tuesday night!  We then watched our usual Sunday shows as we worked on our projects.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 14 (Part 1):  “Fear should never stop you from functioning.  Fear can keep you alive.  Show me a man without fear, and we’ll see a danger to his ship.  There are no fools in the navy.” – Admiral Adar Tallon – Hokan looked out the veranda of the villa to the autumn ground below.  He walked to Lothan’s complex via a diverted path in case a sniper wanted to take a pot-shot at him.  Hokan inspected and then addressed the droids in the entranceway.  Inside the complex, Uthan was upset at being moved yet again.  Hokan layed out a holo of the complex, impenetrable.  Hokan said that it was the last time he would move her, but tried to explain that the strategy would put him on the winning side of an all-out strike.  Uthan said she didn’t understand.  Hokan explained that he was dealing with a small, ill-equipped squad.  Why else would they have had to borrow explosives fromt the mine to blow up the ground station?  Uthan said there was no way to be sure, to which Hokan retorted that all good generals just happened to make the right guess at the right time.  Uthan told him that she would have been evacuated from the planet.  Hokan said that everytime they move her, they take a risk of losing her…..

Leave a Reply

