‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 13 (Part 5)

Okay, Friday and the day after such a busy night.  I figured things would slow down today.  Of course, that was not the case.  I had some problems with students in my morning troublesome class.  But, at the same time I had a great time recording the video with my eighth grade class and doing podcasting with my seventh period class.  Scott asked me earlier where he can listen to my classroom podcasts.  Well, because of legal issues and fears, I have not published them on the net anywhere yet.  Yes, that’s right, I have a whole mess of podcasts that have not been released yet because I’m not sure my school district would let me do it thanks to our legal department.  Even though I had students not give last names, they’re afraid how students’ names and information could be traced back to them.  I guess it’s something I should be worried about, but I’m not.  Anyone can find me and where I live simply by looking up my name and they’ll come acrossed my blog, my two podcast pages, and even more.  All well.

I got done with school today and came home a cool surprise.  My local FanForce group has had an event organized for us, in conjunction with the Syracuse and Rochester FanForce groups on April 6th at the Veteran’s Memorial Arena.  We, my FanForce group, will be hosting a Star Wars Night at the Binghamton Senators game and will be taking money for a raffle for charity.  It’s going to be a fun event and more importantly, it will be a costumed event, so my friends around here will get a chance to see my FanForce group do something local.  I’m really excited about that.  On top of all of that, we’ve managed to secure T.V. time on our local News Channel 34.  Ian called me tonight and we’re going to get together at the Oak Dale Mall on Wednesday night and do an interview with the News Station about our fundraiser and Star Wars Night with the Binghamton Senators.  Man, I can’t wait!!  It will be a reason to costume.  We’ve also agreed that we need to get together next Sunday.  I feel a little guilty because it means I’ll loose some time with my parents.  But, I’m excited because we’re going to gather in costume and hand out flyers in costume at Barnes And Nobles, which will be another reason to get in costume.  Awesome!!

Okay, enough of all that.  Time to talk about Part 5 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 13 (Part 5):  Then Etain suggested they convince Guta-Nay that there are more squads out in the woods and send him in to Hokan to communicate the same.  Fi said that Hokan could kill the Weequay before he talks, however.  Etain also pointed out that Guta-Nay would probably die and Jinart says it’s a decent price to pay to save his world.  Everyone was taken aback because Jinart had admitted this was his homeworld.  Jinart said that he does not fight for the Republic but to save his homeworld.  Niner agrees to the plan and says that if they don’t see movement by mid-day tomorrow, then they’ll split the squad and go in anyway.  Jinart left, and that’s when the charades began.  They put Guta-Nay amongst them, talked of another squad, gave details about an assault on the villa.  That night, they deliberately turned their backs on the Weequay.  Niner kept watch and Etain asked Atin what he saw.  Atin gave her his Deece to show her exactly what they see when they look through a scope.  Etain then put on Atin’s helmet and got a taste of clone gear.  Once she activated the HUD in the helmet, she was overwhelmed by information…..

Leave a Reply

