‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 13 (Part 1)

I started off today with a massive head cold.  But, the more the day has progressed, the more I’m convinced it’s allergies and not a head cold.  Which is odd.  It’s too cold for anything to grow outside, so I don’t know what I could be allergic to at this point.  Maybe it’s just work.  Anyway, I got ready for work today as usual and went to head out the door and then realized that I forgot my SMASH stuff since we have a rehearsal for SMASH night later this week.  So, I went back and grabbed that stuff which made me a little later to work than I wanted to be.  I came to the realization today that there is not much time left to the quarter.  Basically two weeks of instruction and then a week for finals.  This means I will have to get some of my classes going if I want to get them ready for finals in a few weeks.  Of course, today of all days, my problem class has to end their “honeymoon period” and I had to remove two students from class.  It was disappointing, but needed to be done. 

I found it interesting that our school district was supposed to host a statewide workshop on technology for education and they couldn’t get enough educators to sign up for the workshop, so they ended up canceling.  Maybe it’s because there’s a bunch of techs trying to train a bunch of teachers that don’t understand what they’re doing.  Or maybe it’s because school districts can afford to keep up with modern technology.  Better yet, maybe teachers can’t afford to keep up with the technology and afford to spend the time researching it constantly.  Or, maybe that’s because educators are trying to keep up with the latest educational trends and oh yeah, that pesky thing of actually teaching the students in the classroom.  I found that information very interesting today and was not at all surprised that they had problems getting teachers to give up their free time to come to a workshop such as this.  My time is valuable and a workshop better be valuable for me to give up free time with my family and friends for it.

I got done with classes and managed to start working with the tech crew for play rehearsal.  We got a lot accomplished in a very short amount of time and it looks like this crew is going to be one of the best I’ ve worked with yet.  I hope everyone is having fun and I think it will be interesting to see where we go with this over the next few weeks.  We ended our rehearsal early and I went to SMASH rehearsal and got quite a bit accomplished for Wednesday and Thursday night.  I got done with that and came home and ate dinner and talked with Heather who just came back from dropping Austin off to Scouts.  She left to pick Austin up later and I went downstairs and started to spray paint my parts for my costume more.  I’m starting to get really pissed off because many of the layers of paint that I’m putting on all of my parts, including my helmet, seem to be bubbling up.  Anyone out there have any ideas why it would do this?  I put on a decent amount of primer, let each layer dry for at least three days between coats.  I don’t get what’s happening.  If anyone has any ideas, PLEASE let me know.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 13 (Part 1):  CO, “Majestic” to Republic Command, Coruscant:  “Awaiting contact from Omega Squad…..Seperatist vessel has approached…..believed to be a Techno Union armed transport…..standing by.” – Fi remained positive, but Niner was jittery since he didn’t see any security droids between Teklet and Imbraani and now he was covering the rear of the patrol.  Fi was on point and Atin walked behind Guta Nay who was walking between them with quite a bit of ordonance while Niner covered the rear.  Atin sent up a remote while Niner asked Guta Nay if he’d cooperate and threatened to send him to Hokan if he didn’t.  Then Guta Nay continued to tell them about the security droids that he know about.  The remote then shot off and managed to find Darman, who was pointing his Deece at the remote asking if it was sarge.  Niner let him know they were now about ten minutes out and then asked him about hsi wounds.  Darman explained them away and Niner told him they would be arriving with a guest.  Niner then took the remote towards the villa with a long-range lense.  Guta Nay aksed what was going on, as obviously he couldn’t see without a clone helmet.  They said they were looking at the villa and Guta Nay said he knew all about it!  Niner wished they had Jinart right now, but was comforted by the thought that they would be a squad again VERY soon……

 

 

Leave a Reply

