‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 11 (Part 3)

Okay, so this cold kicked my ass and I didn’t get out of bed until eleven o’clock this morning.  Of course, it doesn’t help that I didn’t go to bed until two this morning, and then lost an hour of sleep, so in reality, I only got eight hours of sleep.  Huh!  I got up and headed downstairs right away and it was onto editing.  That took HOURS!!!  I really didn’t finish editing until almost nine o’clock tonight.  But, TJCS #9 is pretty much in the bag.  I had plans to do a ton more work this weekend, but unfortunately, none of the other work got done.  Including getting some SMASH work done.  Heather didn’t call me to tell me that she left her parents’ place, but called me around three-thirty to let me know she was in Norwich at the Wal Mart and would be home in about an hour.  When Heather and the kids got home, I took some time out from editing and helped them unload the car.  I then took about a half hour and continue to spray paint my helmet and gun for my custom Mando costume.  The helmet is almost fixed and my gun is almost ready for the clear gloss coats.  I’m excited because the next stages will actually start to go faster and will really start to solidify the costume.  While I did that, Heather ripped the sleeves off of one of my jumpsuits and started to plan on how to attach it to the other.  We watched our usual shows tonight while we both worked on finishing our projects.  Tomorrow all I need to do is put the pieces of the TJCS show together and start listening to it to make sure it all works.

Okay, let’s talk about “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” Chapter 11, Part 3 by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 11 (Part 3):  Niner checked his escape routes.  Of any, they were all about two-hundred meters away, this would be a HUGE risk!!  The plan was to stop the droid next to the ground station, slip out of the scoop, make a mad dash for it and blow the ordonance.  Now he approached the compound and noted a small fence and wall, no problem for the droid to walk through!  As he got closer, Niner activated the explosives and realized that he was now sitting in a giant bomb.  As he prepared to jump out, he had a feeling that he would not live through this.  The droid now pushed through the outer fence and guards were now recognizing the odd droid in the complex.  The droid stopped at the wall and Niner jumped out of the scoop and ran as fast as he could.  As he ran, he tried to estimate safe distance for destination, then thought “screw it!” and detonated.  Niner crouched as the explosives blew and debris rained on him.  Hopefully his armor would hold up……

 

 

Leave a Reply

