‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 11 (Part 2)

This was a Saturday that didn’t seem to end and I had a whole bunch of work to complete.  I got most of it done, but I was hoping I would get more done.  I got up around nine o’clock or so and helped Heather get the kids together and get them on their way to my in-laws.  Some good news came in yesterday.  Heather managed to get our State Income Tax Return and we were able to deposit it right away and have it available next week Tuesday.  Hopefully we can find a cheap car (about $900) worth and fix it up a little and get Heather a second car within the month.  Anyway, once the kids left, I was back to work.  I watched “Star Wars:Empire of Dreams” while I continued to do research for my Cantina News segment.  I got a quick lunch and continued on with my work when shortly after I received an IM from Jeff Roney who was ready to interview for his segment of the show.  We interviewed for about an hour and a half or so and then I was back on to gathering information.  Once I finished with all of that, it was on to recording.  I ended up recording well into the afternoon.  Right up until dinner as a matter of fact.  On top of all of this, I still have this chest and head cold which has been slowing me down as well.  I ate a quick dinner and continued to record until almost two-thirty in the morning.  Well, all the recording is done, tomorrow I need to edit all my work.  This Daylight Savings Time thing is going to suck as well because now I’ll lose another hour of sleep this weekend that I could have really used.

Okay, let’s talk more Star Wars.  Let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 11 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 11 (Part 2):  Niner was nervous as the excavation droid hit every pothole on the way to the screening plant.  The fact that he was surrounded by explosives didn’t help!  As night fell, he got to a position in the scoop where he could see out.  A procession of equal looking droids followed them and even battle droids stepped aside and let the excavation droids have the road.  However, this group of battle droids seemed very close.  Niner held on to his Deece tightly and hoped that if he fired it, that it wouldn’t detonate the charges underneath him.  The battle droids decided to moveon and Niner was relieved.  He moved on and was ten klicks from the droid’s original delivery point.  According to the ariel photos taht Niner observed, Teklet would be an easy infiltration as the town was only filled with storage containers.  Niner got to the drop point and coaxed the bulldozer droid on toward Teklet.  As Niner got to Teklet he noticed two Trandoshans sitting outside the town with blasters in their blasters in their laps.  They didn’t seem to react to the bulldozer droid lumbering by them.  As Niner got into the town, the thought crossed his mind that he may kill many innocent bystanders.  The thought back to what Skirata told him, that the enemy would use innocents to get an upper hand……

 

 

Leave a Reply

