‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 10 (Part 7)

Well, today was a fairly good day both for me and for my classes.  Last night when I went to bed, I took some NyQuil (or at least the CVS equivalent) and it definetly helped me sleep.  I still have the chest congestion, but at least I’m not as exhausted as I was yesterday.  I got up, coughed quite a bit, and then got ready for school.  Got to school and got things ready.  I prepared myself for my problem class and how they would react to the new policy that I worked out with the vice principal.  Once I laid out the policy, I actually had a very well behaved class.  It was very nice.  I’m trying not to hold my breath, but I hope that the rest of the days can be like this one.  I guess in some ways, I need to make sure they all are like this one.  While I worked on grading papers today, I managed to finish listening to ALTA Radio #3 which I think is their personal best episode yet.  I also managed to get quite a few notes done for TJCS #9 today and will be interviewing Jeff Roney on Saturday and recording the entire episode this weekend and hopefully mixing on Sunday.  I got home from school today and took a nap as the day had taken all that energy out of me and with having this chest cold, it’s been making me exhausted.  I ate dinner a little early with the family and then headed back to East for a PTSA meeting.  It was an interesting meeting.  We had our Assistant Superintendent there who tried to explain the upcoming school budget.  It is just a complete mess, but not the fault of the school!!  Governor Spitzer has just trounced on every school budget in the state and has passed some legislation that ties the school budget of all the small city school districts in the state.  He doesn’t care because his new plan helps the New York City Schools, but ignores the upstate schools as always.  On the plus side, there is a capital projects proposal that will be put to the voters that will approve money for our auditorium to get a much needed makeover.  It would be very nice to see and would help the auditorium a great deal.  I came home after that meeting and then joined Heather and we watched “Survivor”, “Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader?”, and “American Idol” on tape.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 10 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 10 (Part 7):  Ghez Hokan just found out from a local farmer that a male Republic soldier and a young female Jedi were on the Imbraani-Teklet Road.  Hurati surveyed the damage on the farm home, noting a wall blown out, and thinking they had all been killed by Commando fire.  Hokan corrected him, showing him a lightsaber wound and disparaging about the importance of calling in a hard contact before confronting one.  Hurati said they needed to check out a house up the road.  When they got there, Hokan noticed the wounds on the bodies in the small house, with dinner still on the table, were made by teeth.  Hurati told Hokan this was most likely their informer and he was killed by something natural, but not Qiilura born.  Hokan ordered all droids to defend Imbraani, even if that meant losing Teklet.  Then they heard the droids moving towards the riverbank.   Hurati informed Hkan they’ve made a hard contact five klicks West of their position.  He told thm to take them alive and hoped the robots understood what this meant.  Yes, with robot soldiers, he’d have to wait for the Commandos to come to them.

Leave a Reply

