‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 9 (Part 5)

Today was one of the busiest days of the week so far.  I got up and got going to school at my usual time.  Had an interesting day with my classes.  My typical class that misbehaves, misbehaved today as they always do.  I got done with the school day and had a meeting for the tech crew for our musical, “Oklahoma” this year.  I was happy to get about eight kids that volunteered to help out which will give me plenty of students to get done what I want to get done.  This may even give me the ability to have students interviewed using the green screen in my classroom and do some “behind the scenes” footage of the musical this year.  If that works out, it will be kind of cool.  Well, when I got to school today, I realized that I didn’t have my trumpet with me, so I raced home after my tech crew rehearsal to pick it up.  Heather was waiting with the kids so she could drop me off and take the girls to their Girl Scout meetings.  SMASH rehearsal went well tonight.  We got our SMASH bags which was cool and they look really nice.  It helps to make me feel like I’m really part of the group now.  I was dissapointed to find out that due to circumstances out of our control, we are going to have to postpone our “Southern SMASH Tour” and do it next fall.  That may actually work out better anyway as it will give us more time to fundraise money and will give us the ability to concentrate on helping the American Cancer Society.  Anyway, got done with SMASH and Jim gave me a ride home.  I got home, ate dinner and then interviewed Ian for our segment on the Jedi Religion for TJCS #9 which is now going to come out on March 15th.  Ian and I also had a chance to look over my house for Celebration IVA at my house and to talk about other things.  Heather even had a chance to look at Ian’s Mando costume and has a pretty good idea of how it needs to go together now.  I then went downstairs with Heather and we watched our usual shows on CBS tonight while we taped “American Idol”.  Tomorrow will be our 10th wedding anniversary.  It’s so hard to believe!!  I’m really looking forward to the night as Heather and I have fairly big plans, at least for us they are.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 9 (Part 5):  Droids kept advancing along the edge of the woods with flamethrowers as Ghez Hokan and his two lieutenants Cuvin and Hurati looked on from a safe distance.  Cuvin said they would have to burn a lot of Barq to flush them out, but Hurati said it was also meant to look like a defense.  Cuvin suggested a different strategy as this would upset many of the rich Neimoidians and Hokan said he didn’t care.  Hokan pointed out that they’ll complain more when they have clones invading all their worlds.  Hokan asked Hurati to estimate the number of troopers involved.  Using holocharts, he was able to explain Hard Contact points and said it appeared that they are heading for Teklet and estimated no more than ten of them.  He also pointed out that the farmers are helping to track them but are having problems estimating numbers themselves as the tracks were being expertly placed.  Hokan then led Hurati away and told Cuvin to stay put.  He asked Hurati if he heard anything from Gura Nay.  Hurati said not yet, and Hokan told him to keep an eye on Cuvin as he did not trust him and Hurati agreed without premis.  Hokan thought to himself that the enemy will have to resupply sooner or later and will then reveal themselves.  He needed more compelling bait and figured Dr. Uthan would understand.

Leave a Reply

