‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 7 (Part 4)

Okay, it’s Friday, it’s payday, and vacation starts tonight.  It had to be a good day, right?  Well, it was okay to say the least.  Students and faculty were on edge at school and I think it’s just because it was the day before break.  My students were either very well behaved or out of control.  Some classes did a great job today and others made me want to scream.  As one of my colleagues likes to say, “these are the days we live for!”  I got done with the day and came home and had a nice night with my family.  Heather, of course, has to work tonight, so we came home and ate dinner together and Heather headed off to work.  I went to the basement and continued to work on my Mando helmet and my Nerf altered blasters.  I think they’re going to look awesome, but I can’t wait till tommorrow when we’re going to go out and get the paint to work on my helmet and blasters.  As I was downstairs and working on my helmet and blasters and finishing my last coats of primer, I was talking with my kids about other Science Fiction hobbies that I’ve been involved in.  Of course, like many Sci-Fi fans, I had my beginning in my love of Star Trek.  When I said this to my kids, they said, “Star what?”  Then it had dawned on me.  I had never watched any of the Star Trek films with my kids.  I was shocked that I hadn’t and then realized the reason I didn’t was because they were so young when I used to watch Star Trek movies.  Ruth was only about a year or two old when I was into dressing up like a Klingon and going to conventions.  And when I did dress up in my attire, she would scream and go running into the other room.  Let’s face it, Klingon’s aren’t the best looking creatures from Star Trek.  So, we started solving that problem tonight by watching “Star Trek:The Motion Picture” tonight.  I promised the kids that over the next week we would watch all the Star Trek movies together.  More interestingly, I have yet to buy any of them on DVD.  I find this odd, considering how into Star Trek I was up until about five years ago.  Guess that’s something I’ll have to remedy sometime in the near future!

Anyway, time to talk about my other Sci-Fi love.  Let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 7 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 7 (Part 4):  The Commando reached into the water and picked up the hilt of her lightsaber and returned it to her.  Etain then asks him why he keeps calling her commander and the clone explains that all Jedi are now commanders in the Army of the Republic.  Etain now finally introduces herself as padawan Etain Tur-Mukan.  She tells him that Jedi Master Kast Fulier is dead and asks the clone commando to reveal his name to her.  He tells her his name is Darman.  He asked her if she had orders and then informed her he had to be at RV point Gamma within twelve standard hours.  She said they have no time and offered to help the Commando with his equipment.  He didn’t believe she could carry any of it, but she quickly reminded him that she was in fact a Jedi.  He popped off his helmet and told her that she till needed some training as he had bested her earlier, but that they would get her back on track in no time, with some training.  As she looked at this extremely fit young man, she asked him how old he was.  To which he replied that he was only ten years old…..

Leave a Reply

