‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 5 (Part 6)

Wednesday.  Middle of the week and always the busiest day for me.  I got up early for some reason this morning as my body had decided that it wanted to get up at six this morning.  You know, my dad said my body would start doing this more as I got older and I didn’t believe him, but it’s true.  The older you get, the more your body says to you, “hey moron!!  Get up, I don’t want to sleep anymore, you’ve slept half your life already!!”  Anyway, I got going and still managed to get to work at regular time.  It just took my body longer to get going this morning.  I guess not the way I was hoping waking up early would end up.  Heather got up and of course looked like hell warmed over because she worked till two in the morning last night.  She told me she was going to see a doctor today as she was having problems with her breasts lately.  She says they have been hurting and have been tender.  She has no lumps or apparent growths and she’s concerned about what this all means.  She doesn’t think she’s pregnant (although she has tried to talk herself out of that one before!), so she decided to make a doctor’s appointment today and decided to spring this information on me this morning.  Then she tells me it’s no big deal.  Yeah right!!  So, I was concerned and have been praying about this all day long.  It could be any number of things, all that have me very concerned about her.  Anyway, I went to work with all of that on my mind.  My classes today were very well behaved, even my sixth grade class that has been giving me problems in the past.  I got done with school and went into play rehearsal for a little bit to see how things were going from the beginning of the rehearsal.  I then went to my room, cleaned up and got ready for classes tomorrow.

Heather called me at the end of the day and let me know that the doctor couldn’t tell her much, but took some blood from her for tests to check her hormone levels to see if there is anything to this.  She keeps telling me it’s nothing.  I keep reminding her, she’s human and fallable as we all are and that we need to pray for the best and not brush this under the rug.  Anyway, I got done, and went to our local gas station to try and get gas.  I even left a little early and had my schedule blown out of the water.  I waited for forty-five minutes just to get up to the pump.  I’m not sure why, but you would’ve thought there was an energy crisis on the East side of Binghamton.  So, because of this wait I was almost twenty minutes to my SMASH rehearsal.  I was a little pissed off to say the least.  SMASH rehearsal went well and we continued to get things together for SMASH Night and our “Southern SMASH Tour”.  I got done and raced to meet Heather and the kids at Wendy’s and we took Tara to Girl Scouts.  On our way, Heather told me some good news.  My Master’s School, University of New England, has finally decided to send me my degree.  I graduated from the school almost a year and a half ago, but have yet to see my degree.  So, they told us we should see it by next week Monday.  We then went downstairs and did our usual T.V. watching.

Okay, let’s talk about the end of Chapter 5 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 5 (Part 6):  Hokan got in the face of an Ubese and called him a “di kut”.  He was frustrated wit the lieutenants in the room.  He wished the Neimoidians had spent less money on communication and more on personnel.  The Ubese he was chewing out was named Calishh.  He asked Calishh if he really torched another farm and Calishh said he did it as a warning.  Hokan said they get a warning first, then when they break the rules you punish them.  Hokan pointed out that he has created a whole culture that will be out for revenge.  He asked his lieutenant if they all understood, and they snapped to with a “yes sir!”  Then Hokan pulled out Fulier’s lightsaber and cut off Calishh’s head and the room went silent.  Hokan told them all that it was a warning for them and a punishment for Calishh.  He told them them to go find their visitors and told Mukit to clean up the mess.  Hokan asked Guta Nay where his brother and friend may be and Guta Nay said he didn’t know.  Hokan told him to head out to his patrol route and find out.  Then Hokan pulles out a cattle prodder of sorts and sticks it under his Weequay friend’s armpit and warns that information is golden.  The Weequay then went scurrying out the door.  After he left, Hokan thought to himself that The Republic saw this planet as a threat now.  Finally, he would have a worthy adversary to pursue.  Of course, the more soldiers he fought, the higher the fee the Seperatists would pay.  He relaxed and listened to comlink chatter.

Leave a Reply

