‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 2 (Part 4)

This Saturday was busy, busy, busy.  I had three projects that got started, one that needed to get done and one that went on the “back burner” and may never get done!  So, the first project that I worked on all day long throughout the day was my podcast.  I got all the recording done by five o’clock tonight and edited the podcast well into the evening.  I think I got to bed around one o’clock on Sunday morning.  But, when I went to bed on Sunday, I believe I had the entire podcast completed. 

The other project I was working on was Austin’s pinewood derby car.  He helped me cut the wood and he helped me sand it down.  Now we were onto getting the wheel alignment right.  The problem with having a “Jedi Starfighter” as a car is the front of the car does not lend itself to the one and three quarter inch width clearance.  You see, the front of the car is shaped like a triangle and the front of the car comes in and measures only a total of a half to three quarters of an inch.  Hmmm.  How to fix the problem.  So, I started looking at old Nascar cars and old Indy cars and the idea of front pin and rack steering came into play.  Why not have dowels that have holes drilled in them that are glued into place that would hold the wheels and still help to keep the integrity of the car.  Sounds simple in concept.  It was tough in execution.  We tried wood gluing the car but it wouldn’t dry quick enough for the glue to truly adhere.  So, I went to plan B.  It was time to use Ticky Tack.  That’s right, the blue “stuff” that teachers used to hang pictures on the wall.  I used Tick Tack to keep the dowels in place while the wood glue dried.  It even helped to let the wood glued adhere to the wood.  It was actually a pretty ingenious idea and Austin was the one who came up with it.  I guess all those times watching me paint miniatures has paid off.  By the time the day was over, the wood glue had dried and I was taping off the car for Austin to paint it.

The other project I worked on throughout the day is my Mando helmet.  On Thursday, Heather and I were able to pick up some Bond-O.  I had never worked with the stuff before, so I knew this would be an experience.  Well, It was a ton of fun!  You see, I want to make my own original Mando costume/mask and I figured that I might as well start with the mask since I already own that and the other parts of the costume are not even made yet.  So, I have a Don Post original Boba Fett mask and I wanted to make it a smooth mask again.  So, only one way to do that, Bond-O any and all holes in the mask, including the humungous dent in the front.  So, I did and what a trick this stuff was.  I Bond-O’ed each hole then sanded down the excess Bond-O with my rotary tool that I got over Christmas break.  Once I got it down to a reasonable level, I would then sand it with some 180 grit sandpaper.  By the end of the day, the helmet looked like hell warmed over, but the dents in the helmet were gone!  If you felt the helmet, it was pretty smooth all the way around.

Finally, I had one other project that has been sitting in the back of my mind which we just weren’t able to get to today and I don’t think I’ll get to it all week.  We started a Helm’s Deep game on my miniatures table and all last weekend the kids and I were playing.  Now, with the laptop back, I’m spending all my free-time catching up on the things I wasn’t able to do with a computer while my laptop was gone.  So, no game playing going on now.  The game has been interesting.  Ruth took a new approach.   In order to save lives, she gave up the deeping wall and started to draw her men back.  Now, they are all near the Hornburg waiting for my Uruk Hai to beat down the door and turn the corner and then I think she is going to rain down on me with arrows.  What she doesn’t know is that I plan on out-doing her by putting up giant ladders with the help of my ballistas and rain arrows down on her before she rains them down on me.  I know, a lot of strategy.  But, that’s what this game is all about and interestingly enough, my nine year old daughter has done pretty well up until now.

I didn’t get anything else accomplished today as these three projects have pretty much taken over my life.  They will probably take over my life tomorrow as not only do I have two of these projects that need to continue tomorrow and one to get done, but I really want to sit down and watch the AFC and NFC Championships.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 2 (Part 4):  Etain emptied her bad on what has now become her bed.  She was in the barn as all the animals were now kept in the main house to protect them from Gdans.  Birhan also felt the stink of the animals helped to keep the bugs away.  Etain tried to think of a way out of her current situation.  It was probable that Master Fulier was dead or he would’ve returned to her.  Fulier had decided that he needed to teach one of Hokan’s thugs a lesson.  In a town like Imbraani, that wasn’t likely to go well.  Etain now either needed to communicate with someone off of Qiilura or get transported off the planet.  She could do neither at this point in her mission.  She pulled out a Holochart of a bunch of Seperatist buildings nearby that she stole from some drunk locals.  Etain didn’t even look at Imbraani, the local gathering place, as a town.  She couldn’t figure out if her Master’s death has to do with the schematics or Uthan.  She thought it was possible that Ghez Hokan may have done it himself as he didn’t appreciate Jedi themselves, he called them “play warriors”…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

