‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 1 (Part 2)

I felt like total crap when I woke up this morning.  I was getting dizzy again and wasn’t feeling too great when I woke up.  I even lost my voice at given points in time while trying to get ready for the morning.  This just wasn’t going to be a good day.  I told Heather that I trusted myself enough to drive to school, but if I felt bad, I may need to have someone else drive me home and have Heather drive them back to school.  I got to school and started to drag equipment out for the concert.  Our choral, orchestra, and band directors all looked at me and said, “oh my god, are you okay?”  Evidently, I didn’t look so hot.  We had a shortened schedule because of the concert and I warned my students upfront that I wasn’t feeling well, so many of my classes behaved pretty well.  When it got to second period, I had a free period, so I literally laid on the floor of my classroom (tile mind you) and fell asleep for about twenty minutes (shortened periods).  It felt great and I felt a whole lot better.  I finished up all my classes and felt I even got a lot accomplished with them all.

The concert went very well this afternoon.  The kids performed well.  The audience is what I’ve come to expect of an audience at my school.  Most of the music teachers wished the students hadn’t “hooped” it up as much as they did, but that seems to be a common problem at our school.  We even had a student that was so upset with the audience, that while she was reading her announcement for the orchestra, she had to tell the audience to “shut up” and I don’t think she was completely out of line.  As a matter of fact, I think the audience deserved that.  We got done and I made it through okay.

I came home and crashed from all of the work from school.  I went back in the bedroom and slept for another hour today.  I needed to if I was going to make it through the concert tonight.  I came back to school a little early to put my students’ music videos on the T.V. in the hallway for parents to see.  We got some great feedback on it from both parents and students.  Everyone like the idea and liked how the video turned out.  I’m really proud of that video and I hope the next ones we produce will be just as good.  The concert tonight went well as well.  I was very proud of the students and I was able to make it through the night despite all that happened tomorrow.  I came home and Heather and I fixed some things around the house that needed to be taken care of (a lightbulb out in the hallway and a lightbulb out in Frosty outside) and then went downstairs and watched some of our usual shows (“Two and a Half Men”, “Life with Christine” and C.S.I:Miami”) and got to bed at a decent hour.  Heather is going to Syracuse tomorrow to do some Christmas shopping for me, so she felt that she needed to get some rest as well.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 1 of Karen Traviss’ “Star Wars:  Republic Commandos – Hard Contact”……


Chapter 1 (Part 2):  A commander came by and asked his number and he rattled it off like a typical trooper.  He knew in his gut that the rest of his squad must be dead.  Darman asked if they heard anything from 1135, and the commander said no.  Darman knew better than to ask because he had been bred for one purpose as a clone, fight and move on.  Darman never doubted himself till now.  Another, non-Commando trooper sat next to him and was commenting on the DC-17 he was carrying.  The trooper said the job was done, and Darman agreed.  Darman figured that this trooper, or any troopers for that matter, thought that Commandos were a bunch of prima donnas.  Darman didn’t look at it that way.  They were trained to do seige assaults, counter insurgency, hostage extraction, assassination, surveillance, and more.  He never got taught how to live without his squad though.  He felt shame even though they had won the battle.  Once the “Implacable” landed on Ord Mantell, he knew he would be reassigned…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

