‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Chapter 1 (Part 1)

I really don’t remember much from the day today.  Heather had to tell me what happened, and quite honestly, I’m writing this on Tuesday because of what happened today.  I woke up this morning and felt like total crap.  I would have stayed home from church, but I felt guilty that we haven’t been at church for some time and Austin needed to distribute his Boy Scout popcorn.  Besides, I REALLY wanted to get to my Star Wars Fanforce meeting today at Barnes N’ Nobles so I could record our group’s viewpoints on my “What If….” Segment for the next episode.  Well, that was about to be immediately bashed down.  I got to church and felt worse than I did at home.  But, my wife told me to “not try to look like death warmed over”.  So, I decided to help out with the sound since I couldn’t sing in the choir (Heather and I both agreed that we didn’t feel well enough to actually sing in the choir this morning).  About a quarter of the way through the service, I felt extremely HOT!!!  I mean like burning up hot.  I could have torn off all of my clothes and still would have been burning up.  I tried to get out of the balcony, but according to my wife, I sounded like twenty horses.  Luckily, one of the teenagers from church took over and helped me out in that regard.  I got down to the parlor, where all the couches were and collapsed on the closest couch I could find.  I was still burning up and decided it was okay to at least roll up my sleeves and take off my tie.  Heather came over to visit with me and was really worried about me (evidently I was as white as a sheet of paper and beyond).  I told her I was okay for now, and that I would take a nap here on the couch.  From this point on, I lost track of the day.  Evidently, Heather made the decision to take me home right away after church (good choice as I was partially conscious by this point).  I had spiked a massive fever, I’m not even sure what my top temperature was, but Heather had considered calling an ambulance.  By this point my stomach was doing the mambo as well.  As she drove home, I was getting sick from the motion of the car (this has never happened to me before!).  Heather got me home as quick as possible and dropped me off and then headed to CVS for some medicine.

When she got home, she found me passed out on the couch in the family room.  Evidently, my body was unable to make it any farther.  So, she helped me into the bedroom and gave me some “nighttime” Tylenol medicine for Flu.  It was the only medicine she could find that would hit everything that I was having problems with (including diarrhea).  My fever was starting to come down now, but now I was having hot and cold flashes.  Man, if this is what menopause feels like, then I can never be mad at Heather about it later in life.  I was hot one minute and freezing cold the next.   I must have turned on and off the ceiling fan in our bedroom at least two dozen times.  I started to loose track of time and by around four o’clock, I began to wake up a little.  I was simply conscious, not better.  I got up to go to the bathroom and felt sick and threw up.  For the first time all day, I felt vaguely better.  When I got up, there was no one in the house and I couldn’t figure out why.  Then I remembered my wife saying something about having to desperately go out and get groceries and then I remembered that we have little food in the house and she was going to go grocery shopping while I was at my Fanforce meeting that I didn’t go to.  I managed to drag myself downstairs to the home-theather room and onto the couch with two pillows and a HUGE blanket.  After a while, I turned on the T.V. and watched some football while I faded in and out of consciousness.  Evidently, I got some saltine crackers and some flat ginger ale in there, but I don’t remember doing any of that.  I was finally starting to get to be conscious again by six o’clock and was able to watch my usual  T.V. shows (“Amazing Race” and “Cold Case”).  At ten o’clock I went upstairs, took a shower, and was in bed by 10:15 p.m.  That’s the first time I’ve gone to bed before eleven o’clock in about a year.  I don’t remember much about this day, so most of this account comes from Heather.  Such is my life.  I was trying to get myself better quickly as my school concert is tomorrow and they desperately need me as no one else knows how to operate the sound and lights for the concert, so no matter what, I need to be there.  It’s going to be a rough day tomorrow.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 1 of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Chapter 1 (Part 1):  Encrypted message to Ord Mantell – Geonosis forward control team is sending twelve thousand wounded back on transport, eight-thousand of which are walking wounded.  Seventy-two thousand troops need to be re-deployed.  The “Implacable” is prepring for extraction – Commandos 1136 noted every face around him, even though they all looked the same.  He was in charge of evacuating troops onto the dropping gunships.  This wasn’t a retreat but a victorious regrouping.  RC-1136, named Darman, took off his helmet and let the Duros dockmaster know that he was waiting for his mates, in the harshest manner he knew how, threatening.  The Duros backed off and told him to board when he’s ready.  Darman was concerned that he hadn’t heard from the rest of his squad yet.  He grew-up with them and flet compelled to stay as long as possible.  He waited till the last man, but never found them.  As Darman’s gunship hit the landing bay on the “Implacable”, he noted how quiet it was for so many troops being around.  He felt that if there weren’t injuries, no one would know that a major battle had just taken place…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

