‘Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact’ – Prologue

There is one word that could describe today.  “Firefly”!!!  Yeah, I used the excuse that I needed to get the “Firefly” T.V. Series back to Charlie tomorrow as an excuse to lock myself in the basement most of the day to watch the DVD’s.  Heather wasn’t a big fan because she wanted to do some sewing down there, so she was stuck having to watch it with me.  I have to say, the first few episodes of “Firefly” were a little boring.  There just didn’t seem to be any point in the show and then by the third episode, it seems as though the show became very interesting.  I think it’s an absolute shame that this particular T.V. series did not continue.  As I watched the shows today, I tried to think to myself the best way to explain “Firefly” to someone who’s never seen it before.  So, here goes (for those of you that have seen the show, correct me if I’m wrong).  “Firefly” can be best described as a mix of “Deadwood” and “Star Trek”.  Or, if you’ve never seen “Deadwood”, then it’s a mix of an old cowboy film and “Star Trek”.  I really do like the T.V. series, and ironically, when I finished my DVD’s, the movie “Serenity” (based on the T.V. Series “Firefly”) was on HBO.  So, I couldn’t help but watch it.  Wow!!  My viewpoint on this movie has changed and I understand so much more of the movie now.  By the end of the day, I wasn’t feeling that spectacular, but I didn’t feel that well when I woke up either.  I just figured it’s because I haven’t gotten a lot of decent sleep over the past few weeks and I was just tired.  I went to bed a little earlier, considering Heather was working in Vestal till two tomorrow morning.  Got to bed by 11 p.m. and fell right to sleep.

Okay, let’s talk about the Prologue of “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” by Karen Traviss…..


Prologue:  They zip down into a pitch balck crevasse.  They immediately turn on their helmet lamps and realize that in front of them is a triple blast door.  The Geonosians are on the other side and they need to use a lot of explosive to blow it and they have to stick it to a door with a lot of crap on it.  Delta Squad’s CO asks wha they’re waiting for and Theta says to hang on.  The CO reminds them that there are a lot of spider droids attacking.  He yells “clear” and the doors are blown wide open.  He radios to Delta Squad and they enter firing rapidly while the others cover their six.  The battle becomes so noisy that he can’t even hear his comlink in his own helmet.  He catches movement ahead and looks through his DC-17’s scope, but Taler points to a different tunnel.  He (Darman) is ordered to take the E-Web and hold while Taler, Vin, and Hay advance on the tunnel.  Then Darman looks up and sees lots of Geonosians above them.  Darman tries to call Taler, twice, and is answered with a call of “Man down!!”  Darman asks who’s down with no answer.  He’s lost contact wtih his squad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

