‘Star Wars:The Approaching Storm’ – Review

Well, this day was intended to start off on a positive note, but it started off on a rough note.  I woke up this morning and noted that I was unusally cold on the way to the shower.  I thought maybe it was a little odd, but thought nothing of it. I got in the shower and got out and went to the bedroom and noticed that the blower on our heater hadn’t started at all this morning.   I looked at Heather and asked her if she heard it run at all, and she said, “come to think of it, I haven’t”.  So, I did what any testosterone filled male would do, I went downstairs with the intent to “fix the problem”.  So I did just as the father does in “A Christmas Story”.  I frigger rigger saggcer crafreted with the machine.  If you could read all of that, you deserve a gold star.  Anyway, I lifted off the bottom panel of the heater and found the problem right away.  There was an electrical cord sticking out not connected to anything.  I found out where it was supposed to be connected to and tried holding it there, and sure enough, the blower worked!!  Yeah, I found the source of the problem, now how am I going to be able to fix it?  Well, unfortunately, this problem was beyond my expertise.  So, I did what any good redneck would do in this situation.  I electrical taped the cord in place until I could get professional help.  I told Heather to call Auchinachie since the cord came from the blower they just installed last February.  So, Heather drove me to work and came home and called.  She text me later in the day to let me know that they would come at 3:30 this afternoon.

I thought, “okay, that was the worst part of the day, right?”  The answer was about to be “wrong”!!  I got to school and started moving some equipment around for the concert, when I went to move our piano that’s on the new, fancy dancy piano cart.  Well, the cart kind of sucks!!  It wouldn’t roll and I couldn’t figure out why.  The band teacher came out and helped me and the two of us discovered the piano had a bum wheel.  Great, something else to go wrong.  I got the piano stuck halfway between where I needed it to be for the concert and where it needed to be in order to be out of the way.  Not good!!  It  took the two of us working our tails off and knocking the piano off the cart twice before we got it back to where we needed it to be in order for it to be out of the way.  So, I rolled in the piano from the chorus teachers classroom.  Man, could anything else go wrong?  Well, the answer is “no”.  The rest of the day went pretty smooth including the lunch practice for the concert.  I got done at school and Heather came and picked me up and we raced home so Heather could drop me off and go to the Town of Fenton Hall because evidently New York State forgot to send to us (and everyone in the Town of Fenton) the papers to renew the liscence for our dog.  So, she had to go pick up paperwork.

In the meantime, the guy from Auchinachie showed up at the house to look at our furnace.  I showed the guy exactly what was wrong with the furnace.  I also asked him what it would cost to fix.  He said a minimum charge would be $150.  Damn!!  That’s more than we planned to pay at any given point in time.  I then told the guy that we just bought the blower from them in February of this year.  I even pulled out the paperwork and receipts to prove it.  The guy called his boss and got the okay to do the work for free because I told him it was still under warantee and his boss agreed.  So, in the end, it worked out.  Tonight, Heather had to head over to Vestal to do her shift as they were shorthanded over there.  I went downstairs and started to watch the “Firefly” T.V. series that I had borrowed from Charlie.  I finally found a weekend that I had nothing going on in, in order to have a chance to watch it.

Okay, so onto my final review of “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster…..


Review:  I wanted to really like this book.  Why?  Because of the author.  Let’s face it, Alan Dean Foster is the “father” of the Extended Universe of Star Wars when he came out with “Splinter of the Mind’s Eye” in 1978.  But even with Foster as the author, I have to be brutally honest about how I feel about this book.  It really wasn’t anything to write home about.  For several reasons.

The plot of this book was slow at best.  It seemed like it took forever for anything of any worth to happen in the book.  And most of the most important points in the book didn’t come till the very end.  This would work for any book if the plot maintained your interest, but the plot of “The Approaching Storm” just didn’t seem to drive enough all the way from the beginning to the end.  There just weren’t enough subplots to make the book worth it’s while.

The characters were interesting but not interesting enough.  I think the Ansionians weren’t explained enough and other characters, like Bulgan and Kyakhta, weren’t given enough character development to help us endear ourselves to them.  As much as I wanted to like Tooqui, his appearance in this book seemed beyond pointless.  He didn’t do much to drive the plot either and just didn’t make the book any more interesting.  I liked Luminara Unduli and Barriss Offee and felt as though I got to know this Jedi/Padawan group the most throughout this book.   I think the story would have been interesting if it had just the two of them as the Jedi in the book.  Anakin and Obi-Wan seemed thrown into the book just to fill in the subplots and just to appease the “Anakin” fans that exist out there.

The overall point of the book seemed lost as well.  It was supposed to fit in the timeframe of when the Commerce Guild was coming to power.  Now, we all know, thanks to “Attack of the Clones”, that the Commerce Guild is unsuccessful in trying to take over the galaxy.  But it just seems like the political angst that the author tries to create is lost in the fact that we already know what the outcome is going to be.  To make matters worse, the particular polotics that are discussed in this book just don’t seem important at all.

So, if you can’t figure it out by now, I just did not like this book.  It seemed tedious and I felt like some of the chapters dragged on and on and on, like they would never come to an end.  Worse yet, there were points in time that I actually regretted on reviewing this particular book.  With all of this in mind and the few positives I could find in the book, I give “Star Wars:The Approaching Storm” by Alan Dean Foster a:

2 out of 10.

Starting tommorrow – “Star Wars:Republic Commandos – Hard Contact” By Karen Traviss

Leave a Reply

